You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beer Art with Põhjala Jõuluöö

Hey man, I went to the beer shop yesterday, but I couldn't manage to take a picture of it. They have quite a few from Anchor Brewing, Anderson Valley, and Flying Dog. I actually tried an IPA from Flying Dog a couple of weeks ago, and I quite liked it :)

Sort:  

Hmm, I've had a couple by all three of those, but not sure I've had any of their IPA's. I know the first 2 are from California and the last one is from the Northeast. I think I've had the original Anchor Steam beer, the winter warmers from both Anchor and Anderson Valley, and the G&T Gose from Anderson. All of them were pretty good if I remember correctly, though I'm not the biggest fan of goses, so I personally didn't enjoy it as much as the other beers. For Flying Dog, I've only had their Pearl Necklace stout and the Doggie Style pale ale. While not my favorite, their beers are pretty solid all around though, so I'm sure some of their IPA's are pretty good.

If you have access to Dogfish Head, you should try the 90 Minute IPA. It is a bit more mainstream here in the states, but it's a solid Imperial IPA. I doubt they would have it since it is fairly rare even here, but if you can find their 120 Minute IPA, that one is very nice. If drunk fresh, it is raw and equivalent to a kick in the face, but if you age it for a couple years, it smooths out a lot. Watch out though, that one is 18% ABV and will mess you up quickly. If they happen to have Clown Shoes, pretty much any of their beers are excellent, including their IPA's. Southern Tier makes a great Double IPA (they also have an Imperial IPA, or at least they did, which kind of confuses me since it's effectively the same). Hmm, my personal favorite IPA is by Gigantic Brewing, and is called Pipewrench. It is a Gin barrel aged IPA and is absolutely fantastic. Unfortunately, they are pretty small yet, so it is unlikely they would be shipping much, if any, overseas.

You may also want to keep a lookout for Stone. Their basic IPA is a bit harsh and lacking in malt backbone if you ask me, but some of their other IPA's (and they have a lot) are not bad. If they happen to have it and you are in the mood to try something different, they actually have a Mocha IPA that I personally like. Chocolate, coffee, and hops. It is strange, but it works.

If you get the chance, let me know what other breweries your shop has. It's kind of fun sharing ideas from across the pond :)

In the meantime, please let me know if you have any breweries I should be on the lookout for. I tend to gravitate toward stouts and porters, some stronger ales, sours, and the occasional IPA.

Hey man, thank you for the thorough and awesome comment! I remember there was a documentary about Dogfish Head brewery where they called them "an eccentric brewery for eccentric people" :) I've never had anything above 12-13% ABV, so the 120 Minute IPA will definitely be a beer that I will seek out.

I went to another beer store yesterday, and although most of the time the stores have similar selections of craft beers, I was able to find a couple of interesting ones from Rogue - Shakespeare Oatmeal Stout. Have you had the chance to try it?

I have been quite impressed with Põhjala lately, which is a brewery from Estonia. They have a couple of wonderful porters called Must Kuld and Öö. Another beer I'd recommend is the Norwegian LA 3 Beans Stout - it's quite boozy with its 13% ABV but I absolutely loved it!

Cheers!

Those sound nice :) I have not tried that one by Rogue. I've had a few of their brews though, and they are not bad. The Rogue Hazelnut Brown Nectar and Hazelutely Choctabulous are both pretty tasty, though they are on the sweet side. Their flagship, the Dead Guy Ale, is also a solid pick, though nothing particularly special, just solid.

I'll have to keep an eye out for Põhjala and LA. That stout sounds nice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84