Beer Art with Põhjala Jõuluöö

in #beersaturday7 years ago (edited)

P1150253.jpg

Imagine a deliciously looking choco-vanilla dessert covered in soft mocha crust. You slice it through the middle, thus revealing a velvety smooth, almost liquid core. A divine aroma of cocoa and vanilla starts emanating from it; it reaches your nostrils and waters your mouth. You take a bite, close your eyes, and start chewing it. The blend of milk chocolate and fresh vanilla nibs culminates into a small sensory orgasm before it smoothly makes its way down your throat. Not a complex taste by any means, yet fabulously good. You open your eyes and look back at the dessert. The bittersweet finish makes you want to take another piece.

P1150269.jpg

That's how I would describe Põhjala's Christmas edition Imperial Porter. By the way, does anyone know how the name of the beer should be pronounced? @sulev?

Jõuluöö (Christmas Night) by Põhjala Brewery in Tallinn ~ 8% ABV ~ 330 ml ~ 3€

P1150239.jpg

All shots are taken with Lumix G80 & Lensbaby Velvet 56mm f/1.6, which is normally used for flower photography. I think it's equally good for beer photography.
P1150260.jpg

I also tried to take a selfie for you guys, but that turned to be a notoriously difficult job with a 56mm (112 mm when mounted on a 4/3 body) manual focus lens. Next time ;)

Cheers!
Dan


With this beer post, I am participating in the weekly #beersaturday challenge, which is run by @detlev. You can see the main post and all entries here. If you'd like to help me win the contest, please visit the main post and upvote my comment. Thank you!

P1150278.jpg

Sort:  

You can have the beer; I want that dessert! Really fun use of the Lensbaby! These are great shots.

I stopped eating desserts a couple of months ago, so we have a deal :P Thank you, Lisa!

I’m not sure what any of those words mean 🤷‍♀️

Great story... I want a piece from the dessert too!
Photos look gorgeous!
Cheers!

Cheers, Miro, and thank you! :) Пробвал ли си бира с някакъв десерт?

Мисля, че само със столично тъмно... но определено бих се поглези някой път с имперски стаут, комбиниран с десерт!

Awwww, I wanted to see a telephoto selfie! wYou could have gotten an eye and eyebrow, maybe!

Nice beer shots. I like the detail in the bubbles. Was that second shot a calibrated pint glass?

Haha, maybe even both eyes 👀 and eyebrows :) Thank you, Mark!

There could have been even more detail in the bubble shot but I am still getting used to the manual focus. The glass is actually less than a pint - 250 milliliters.

I can do selfies with my ultra wide lens, but the distortion is intense. Makes you look alien!

Haha, but such selfies are quite funny!

Nicely done Dan. I upvoted your contest too. Interesting comments and bottles on the contest post. Good luck!

Thank you, Deb, much appreciated! ☺️ It's a great little beer community, and the main weekly post usually has a lot of cool beers and funny comments

Lovely photography and the porter looks amazing. Perhaps not a beer for the hot Australian summer though.

Is the lensbaby a type of filter?

Thank you, man! Haha, I guess not even for the mild and warm Australian winters 😁

The Lensbaby is an actual manual focus lens :) It's something like a 3 in 1 lens - it can be used creatively as it makes light and objects glow when it's wide open at f/1.6 and f/2, when stopped down to f/4, it becomes a normal portrait lens, and as a bonus, it can be used for macro photography.

Oh wow. That is so cool. I’ve never heard of it.

Do you have a dedicated camera, or are you taking pictures with your smartphone? :)

I'm just using a smartphone at this stage but have a Canon 5D MkIII as well. Only problem is that I don't have a suitable lens for taking macro or portraits.

That's some serious gear :) What lenses do you have?

I only have one lens. It’s a 100-400mm telephoto. Canon as well.

I gave my other lenses to my Dad along with my old camera after he tried to give his a bath in a fast moving river.

Awesome description. This one sounds delicious!

Thank you, Jeff! Not as delicious as the one that you reviewed :)

You know what...I hate beer, always did, but after that description I would definitely try it. Great post dear!

Thank you, Di! I am sure that, with time and persistence, I will be able to convert quite a few non-beer people into beer-lovers :P

Hahahahaha you can definitely try 😉

I'd love to taste it! Looks delicious by the way you describe it! Will upvote your post in the main post!

Thank you, Isabel, much appreciated! :) Are you going to join the challenge again in the future?

You're welcome! I hope you win. I will, I have some new pics... I am not fond of the new evaluation method, though. It's fair but for more popular people. For the last one I had to ask for votes and I don't like that.
I will join just for fun!

Yeah, do it just for the fun :)

And that’s why I like Christmas ;) This lensbaby (how do I love this name, how cute is that, right?) did a fantastic job :) But seriously, no selfie... Such disappointment...

Yeah, I think it's a great name for a lens :) It is a disappointment - I know half of the Steemians come here to see a selfie, not to read a beer review :P

YUM Dan, I just want to go to sleep now and dream about this wonderful brew.

Hey Lakshmi, did you have sweet beer dreams last night? :)

Dan somehow it was an IPA that appeared, just like this:

What a dreamy photo :) looks like taken with the same lens

Just a bit of editing ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56963.59
ETH 2355.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38