Sort:  

Hey holbein81! I have learned so much about beer from your posts, and was pleasantly surprised to see BeerLao included in this new one. I currently live in Lao, and can perhaps add some additional information for you. They have, of course, the export and non-export versions of BeerLao. The export is one of my favorites off all lagers - light, a bit fruity, crisp. I think you would really enjoy some of the Vietnamese beers (ex. Bia Saigon) which - in this region of SEA - is more similar to BeerLao. Vietnam is a whole other world of drinks. They even have Bia Hoi, which is literally beer the people brew themselves and then serve in plastic jugs (photo below), and it's like 4,000 VND (equivalent to HALF a USD). Total SWILL, but excellent for getting "down and dirty" with some HARDCORE local Vietnamese food, which is - in my opinion - one of the BEST cuisines in the world, and one which CANNOT be consumed without beer. The non-export BeerLao is sold in yellow crates for 100,000 kip (which is roughly $12.50 USD). If you buy in crates you basically pay for 10 (ten) 660 ml bottles and get the LAST TWO free. The non-export version is DEFINITELY not up to the same standard as the export, and some bottles have just not tasted right to me. The Lao people also ABUSE this stuff pretty seriously, and eventually you get a bit turned off by it. But I agree that the EXPORT version is very nice. I hope you will get your hands on some Vietnamese beers and include them in upcoming reviews...

Wow, what great comments, thanks!!

We have a Vietnamese restaurant near to us and I really like it - no idea how original it is, but good for me

And I love the sound of the beer - you've convinced me, I need to visit!!

Cheers

until meds forced me to quite drinking I never believed in dry January or dry any month for that matter

I do believe I have tried both of those beers and found them not to bad

I too am a non-believer - we can stand together...

I thought they were both pretty good -pale ales coming next

🍺

For sure
Looks king forward to the pale ales

It's fun sampling multiple styles of beers. Good reviews, looking forward to eight more! @ironshield

They are coming - over the next few days.
And I think I may have a non-beer post too!!

Cheers 🍺

This looks so awesome, I remember trying out the different kinds of beer when I was working at the liquor section. That changed after I moved back to my home country, liquor costs an arm and a leg here.

Thank you @alvinauh - all i can say is that it is good I don’t live in your country - that would be too expensive!!

Cheers 🍺

There is a brown ale that really I like that's called Moose Drool. I think it comes out of a brewery in Montana. Looks like you've got enough beer to get at least 3 posts :D I like the variety packs too. They make for nice gifts and good to get when you just can't decide what you feel like enjoying that day.
Mo

Agreed, I have three posts here, number two almost done. Three tbd
But no moose drool - need to look out for that...

Cheers 🍺

Good to see you back! Hopefully you're (mostly) recovered from the holidays at this point! :)

I'm dying at work!!

Cheers

Hah, fair- not looking forwards to going back to school on Monday, so I hear you!

Enjoy the beers buddy and wish you a January full of beers :-) cheers !!! Regards Nainaz.
#thealliance

Thanks Nainaz - there will definitely be more!!

Dry January?? WTF... why would someone intentionally do that... even the worse new years eve hangovers are forgotten about by the 5th.. that's a stupid resolution.. setting themselves up for failure...
I've had Moosehead... that's good fucking beer right there

I fully agree - it seems to have become a bit of a trendy thing to do
Fortunately I am not too trendy...

Cheers for swinging by, hope all well and Happy New Year!

Happy New Year to you too

You, my friend, have truly figured out how to live! Getting paid in crypto to drink beer and then write about them! Genius!!!

haha, thanks!
Not sure I can quite afford to stop working yet, but STEEM is heading in the right direction!!

Cheers

Have you ever had Moose Drool, @holbein81? My husband loves it, and we have a friend from Germany who goes nuts over it every time he visits.

I'm not a beer drinker myself, but I enjoy stuffing my husband's Christmas stocking with 3-4 bottles of craft brew. Lump of Coal is one I always try to get, but sometimes it is sold out or unavailable. It's his favorite at Christmas time.

I've upvoted and resteemed this article. I found the link for it in The Steem Engine Discord Server.

Cheers!

Hi mitneb, thanks for passing by!
Have never had Moose Drool, but it's now on my list

Cheers

Well that's cool that I could recommend something that you've never tried, @holbein81! Be sure to let me know what you think of it when you get a chance to try it.
Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44