Drinking from the Wheel of Beery Mystery for #BeerSaturday

in #beersaturday5 years ago

There is a pub near us called The Royal Mail - it's a pretty traditional sort of Australian pub which is to say it's not too fancy. The current owner is trying to inject a bit of Craft Beer cred into the place and one of the more fun idea he has is what he likes to call The Wheel of Beery Mystery.

wHEEL.jpg

It is a simple as it sounds, there is a wheel on the wall with about 50 beers written on it, you pay the man $8 and spin the wheel, wherever it lands is what you get, from what I can tell there are maybe 5 or so beers which would be a bad deal, 30 beers where $8 is about the right price and 15 or so really good deals, some would be $20-$25 beers so it's worth a spin and it's pretty good fun and a nice way to try some new beers.

So I had a spin, and my wife had a spin and we ended up with two pretty good beers:

First up was Edge Brewing and their Hannibal Red Lager - I've discussed Edge brewing here before, they are a local Melbounrne outfit, actually started in North Melbourne, and a 4 minute walk from the Royal Mail on Spencer street. This is a beer I'd had before, but I was still pretty happy with the wheel on this one, it's a pretty easy drinking malt backed red lager, it toasty and with a little bit of a toffee in the aftertaste.

The Other beer comes from further afield, coming from Stillwater Ales in the US, this was from their cellar Door range, which are more sophisticated classic styles. It was a farmhouse ale with Sage, it has a distinct herbal smell, but really I wasn't getting much from the taste at all. My wife quite liked it, I didn't hate it, but if it wasn't on the wheel of beery mystery I wouldn't have chosen it.

So if you are in Melbourne, drop into the Royal Mail on Spencer Street (maybe before a cricket, football game or concert at Marvel stadium - yep that's right one of our sporting stadium is named after Marvel comics - weird I know)

And if you aren't in Melbourne, well, drink beer and enter #beersaturday organised by Detlev, which you can check out here: https://steemit.com/hive-187719/@detlev/the-sylvester-aka-new-years-eve-beersaturday-in-week-134

Sort:  

So if you are in Melbourne, drop into the Royal Mail on Spencer Street ...

Promise, i will! 😎🍻
!BEER


Hey @harveyword, here is a little bit of BEER from @muelli for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

Hehe, sounds cool.

Need to come to „down under“ again but such a long trip only work in your winter time.

Places like Cairns or so for Diving and Quorn for friends will be on that trip - does Melbourne fit into this or do you have snow in July?

No, we never get snow, most days in winter would still be 12-14 degrees. The bigger issue is Melbourne is about 4 hrs by plane from Cairns

Posted using Partiko Android

Ok, so from the weather it is ok.

I‘ve been 4-5 times in Australia as I love traveling, but this is a few years ago.

Now I want to show this lovely country to my kids.

Yeah, flying into 3 areas is the only way to travel that huge land.

Being so hot as this time of the year the lighter ale might be why your wife preferred it.

Nice idea to spin the wheel, leaves you to enjoy the beer without having to think about which brew to choose.

I love that Hannibal can! :)
Does the whole lid come off of that can? It looks fully opened at the top.

I don't knoww if I will ever get to Melbourne, but if I do I will look up this place!!
!BEER


Hey @harveyword, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56905.21
ETH 2508.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36