Beers for the Superbowl in Australia

in #beersaturday4 years ago

Supes1 (1 of 1).JPG

Super bowl in Melbourne Australia doesn't happen at the best time for beer consumption, its Monday morning 10.30am kick-off. Luckily I'm not working, I have a fine selection of American beers, I have hot dogs for lunch and I'm ready to go.

Supes2 (1 of 1).JPG

I'm starting with a sour beer (it is me after all) from Almanac who are a very good craft brewery out of San Francisco which would be apt if I wanted the 49ers to win, but even though I've been to San Francisco, twice, and I really like it, I'm on Kansas City today, after watching the conference game Mahomes won me over, but I can find beer from Kansas City so its west coast beer for me.

The beer is tropical galaxy which is a (and here is beer nerd bingo) galaxy dry hopped sour farmhouse ale aged in oak barrels with pineapple, mango, lime and coconut.

It's promises to be amazing. It pours a pretty standard pale, slightly cloudy yellow, it a touch of sour yeast and coconut in the smell.The taste is very refreshing, certainly sour, with the light spritzy carbonation. It a pretty darn good beer.

As the 49er's score first this beer has been sitting for a while, the carbonation has faded which is allowing the fruit notes to become more prominent.

Supes3 (1 of 1).JPG

Next up we move to Bend Oregon and Deschutes for the Fresh Haze IPA, and I like how this beer is the orange of can, it feels fresh and juicy without even drinking it.

Its gently carbonated, gently hopped with fruit based tones, its balanced and super drinkable. I'm really enjoying this beer.

Supes4 (1 of 1).JPG

Quarter 4 sees the 49er's with the lead and me moving further east and a lot darker this beer is a collaboration between Arizona Brewing and Stillwater (out of NY) called 'Stillwater is nothing, big bunny is everything' and is an imperial milk stout.

It's pitch black with a big arse foamy head which just disappears leaving a barely carbonated ale, the smell has a hint of powdered cocoa, the taste is actually more balanced than I was expecting it nowhere near a sweet as some milk stouts and it hides the 8% pretty well.

It's about over four hours later and the beer is gone, the hot dogs are eaten, I seen about a thousand advertisements, the Chiefs have fought back for the win and I'm happy little fella.

Sort:  

I think I would like that milk stout!!
!BEER
Cheers!!


Hey @harveyword, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61038.71
ETH 3404.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50