Beer Review: Milkshake IPA's are a thing?

in #beersaturday5 years ago

It's a milkshake IPA battle at our local pub. Milkskae IPAs shouldn't be a thing and are basically a gimmick, but I'm willing to give this a try. I guess in the traditional of a spider it's the bitterness of hops mixed with the sweetness of lactose.

From the can is Dainton's cookies and cream milkshake IPA, it looks like a normal enough IPA, with a slight orange tinge, but I know there is sweet unfermentable lactose hiding in there, so I'm skeptical. It smells like a cookie, not a warm cookie, but a Oreo that's been sitting there for a little while. The taste is well, weird it's sort of beery at the start there is almost some fruit hoppiness but then it turns all sweet and weird - I'm pretty open to some weird beers but I really don't get this one.

On tap, and nitro tap at that is the Pirate Life iced coffee milkshake, and this one is pretty darn good, it's smooth and milky, a product of the nitro pour, it has a distinct taste of coffee, okay there is essentially no hops so I don't understand how it's and IPA, but it is actually quite enjoyable so there is that.

Sort:  

Enjoy and have a great weekend.

I must agree, the milkshake sounds weird!!
!BEER
Cheers!!


Hey @harveyword, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56787.81
ETH 2507.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24