RETURN TO WORK

in #beersaturday6 years ago

Okay, well, so it may have been my fault the plant shut down for a few days. Does that give everyone else the right to be pissed at me? Apparently they think it does. There's only one way to get back into their good - maybe decent - graces: buy them beer. But, there is a problem: these guys don't like shitty beer. They are craft beer guys and they know their shit. So, I have to give them something they won't spit out that won't empty my pockets (which are considerably more empty now that I, you know, shut the plant down for a few days) Yes, I found a solution:

Imgur

TORPEDO extra IPA by the respected Northern California Independent brewer Sierra Nevada. (You know, like the mountains - with Lake Tahoe and the Donner party). These comes in 24 fl. oz. bottles for only about $4 each - which is very reasonable for craft beer. And at 7.2% alc, I won't have to buy so much. So, I sent the ol' lady down to the liquor store to get a case of TORPEDOES for me. You see, I have this issue with the owner, and well, she can just say she's buying it for her bowling team - they drink-a lot. But the test is in the pour and the taste.

Imgur

It certainly looks like it should. It has a good head and cool lacing. It has a whiff of citrous and hops that seem solid. The taste is what a pleasant IPA should be: it presents cool and refreshing with no over-whelming sense of any fruit in particular, but a citrous feel from the hops. They are listed as magnum, crystal and citrous. They also list two-row pale and caramel malts.
The TORPEDO listed is not just a name, it's their process. In their words, it is ...

"...a revolutionary dry-hopping device that controls how much hop aroma is imparted into beer without adding additional bitterness. Torpedo Extra IPA is an aggressive yet balanced beer with massive hop aromas of citrus, pine, and tropical fruit."

After a few of these, the guys even began to speak to me again. After a couple of more, there were even a couple of smiles. In a month or two I may even get off the night shift. Bitchin.

Imgur

The TORPEDO is not an exotic IPA, it's a well done solid beer. The hops don't over-whelm and there's nothing sneaky. With a pleasant fading after-taste, It's always tempting to drink more. That said, I probably shouldn't have given it to them at lunch. Oh well, drink and learn.

All Hail #BeerSaturday !
Remember, next week one year! We will all celebrate with Detlev. :-))

Sort:  

Solid and inexpensive (relatively). I forgot about Torpedo. Thanks

You're welcome. I do what I can. Cheers!

An up for the Name Torpedo regardless how it’s taste :-) 😂 Name is best 👍

It's a great name for a beer and it stands well for itself.

I suppose the production after lunch was way down again, looks like you keep on interfering with the production!! LOL

Yeah. I wonder how many will call in "sick" tomorrow? It never ends - I'll get blamed for that too! :-)) Thanks for the read and the comment.

24 oz bottles? I thought 22 oz was the standard size. trying to one up the competition? I thought you said they liked good beer, you saw that was an IPA, correct? were they pissed? ;)

The bottle says 24oz - They just fill the bottle fuller. And..If .they work with me, how smart can they be? I'm thinking they would love it. :-))

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-31T00:57:00
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 32.50/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hey man, you should have taken a picture of your colleagues :P Your posts are always a pleasure to read :)

I have been looking for this beer for a while now. Unsuccessfully. The only Sierra Nevada they have in the shop is a regular Pale Ale.

Thanks for your read and comment. Always cool to hear from you. Their regular Pale Ale isn't bad either. In general, they make good stuff.
Cheers to ya! :-))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54179.48
ETH 2261.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31