PEPPERS?!

in #beersaturday6 years ago

I finally staggered home. I knew I'd done something wrong, but I just couldn't remember what it was. I knew she was at a bowling league play-off match, so I figured the door would be locked - again. On my way to pull off the bedroom bug-screen to crawl into my house, I thought , what the hell, so I tried the side door - and - it was open!
Slowly, I wandered thru the house expecting a trap. But I found a note from the old lady saying "Check the fridge for a hot time tonite." That had sooo many possibilities. I quickly looked in the fridge and found this bottle of beer she had bought for me. In the note, she told me where to put it, and I did:

Imgur

I thought that was a weird place to place a bottle of beer, so I looked at the label.
LATITUDE 33. That's very good, I love their Blood Orange IPA. Good brewery. This was called MANGOVEZA. What the hell is that? Then it says: Tropical Mango India Pale Ale. Well, that explained... nothing.
I looked further on the label. They say..."fruity bitterness upfront followed by a burst of habanero warmth provides a well-balanced IPA."
I looked up habanero and they are really hot peppers...WTF...that's what she meant by a hot time tonite. Now I was leery of this beer - but I wanted a beer. So, I did what anyone would do - I poured.

Imgur

While this poured beer looked, well, mostly perfect. And smelled like a nice IPA with a hint of mango, I still had my doubts (I know she likes food a lot hotter than I do), so I called a couple of beer friends. The first said he'd tried one with peppers before and it really didn't work for him. The second said he doesn't like fruit in beer and hated habaneros in beer. He'd tried one once and couldn't finish it.
Well shit. Now what to do? I know, that was hardly even a question, I tried it.

Imgur

It tasted ... like a slightly sweet, bitter IPA. Very nice with a pleasant, light carbonation an the tongue. I sat down and waited for the heat of the habanero to kick in. Nothing happened. If I looked very hard, I could feel a very slight heat, but not much. Or it could have been the 7.2%alc.
I thought I should test it again, but now it was all gone! I was thinking #BeerSaturday needed to hear about this
I was expecting something completely different with this beer. It was pleasant and I wouldn't mind drinking it again. But, I'd get their Blood Orange again it I had to choose.

All photos my own with my iPhone5S. :-))

Sort:  

Hahaha, I love the way you tell the story :)
I love hot food, but I don't think I would like hot beer, so I am glad to hear that habanero isn't felt in this one.

So was I. :-)) Thanks for reading.

Once, I had a habanero beer from the flying dog - it burned my throat, lol 😂 Your stories are always fun to read! 🍻

Thanks. I was expecting more of a burn - How much of that beer did you drink?

I only had a bottle of it :)

What a nice story.

Great to have such content with the #BeerSaturday

Thanks. It's fun. Here's hoping things pick up! In the meanwhile...Cheers! :-))

Ha great story Dennis! I’ve had a habanero beer also and it was actually quite tasty mixed with pumpkin! New Belgium Voodoo Ranger Atomic Pumpkin. 583CBA5B-5588-4DB0-8B57-03511652BC90.jpeg

Nice try - thing is I really don't like pumpkin. But, I do like most beers from New Belgium I've tried. Damn, there are lots of different beers. :-))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64479.05
ETH 3181.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57