LOCK ME UP

in #beersaturday6 years ago

Ok, this time of year the ol' lady and I have an agreement: She goes to bowling or darts tournaments and I revel in the joys of TV. Yes, it''s March Madness time in the USofA. (the national collegiate basketball tournament. Single elimination, starting with 64 teams.) So, I got off work early yesterday to get started. It takes preparation - 16 games this first day. Then 16 tomorrow. I start with a session beer: already reviewed on a previous #BeerSaturday

Imgur

With a low alc level this is great beer for drinking a 6pack with a bag of chips and guacamole.
A couple of hours later, my school, San Diego State University, lost. Literally, at the last second. Oh, the sports gods are brutal.
I went to the fridge and found a "If Needed" package from the wife. Then I took it outside for a look:

Imgur

She knows me so well. She knew I'd need to be committed somewhere if my team lost. An Asylum probably seemed like a good idea to her. So let me check this out.

Belgium-style Tripel Ale. Yes. These I generally like.
Made by Left Coast Brewing Co. in San Clemente, Ca. (San Clemente is in Orange County - squeezed in between San Diego and Los Angeles Counties. Yes, the O.C.. Beautiful beaches, loads of cash and Disneyland. Okay, that's all a good place to put an Asylum.)

Imgur

Nice head of foam with a perfect shade for a Belgium Triple. A nice start.
As it went down, I could feel a slight warmth that kinda reminded me of a lite port. Not unpleasant, but surprising.
I looked at the back label:

Imgur

Right there, it says it: "Asylum finishes with a subtle, warming character to help you relax on any night." I'm thinking that is a fine trick, cuz I was already feeling more relaxed. I checked out the front of the bottle again:

Alc, 11.8%. Yep, that'll do it. I felt the aroma and taste of this Ale was very pleasant. Nothing stood out negatively. I got to feel like it would be cool to use as a red-meat dinner beer/wine drink. I would not drink it for casual drinking on a long day.
Those of you still stuck in snow may see if it can be delivered - that would be very good.
So, with the wife gone on a tournament run, my team having lost, I go back in the house and finish my beer to another pair of dark, brooding eyes.

Imgur

Of course, there's still a lot of basketball to watch. Cheers, Dudes!!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @dennisauburn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

That is one powerful beer. Sorry about your team losing. There’s always next season. :)

Thanks. And we'll look for the perfect beer for next season. Cool, a reason to continue on! :-))

That Asylum looks and sound great!! Your wife surely knows what a man needs, in a time of need!!

Thanks for the read. Yeah, she has her moments. :-))

Looks like a great variety to go with all or the basketball games!

Thanks for the read. @ 11.8%, I don't think I'd make it thru a lot of games. But, the taste could make the trip. Cheers.

Wow 11.8% is no joke. the Name is perfect

I know. We have some very interesting craft beers around here. You guys coming down for the Harp Fest on the 31st?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63455.85
ETH 2722.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58