Life in the Slow Lane

in #beersaturday6 years ago

What a great day! I actually sold one of those parts with the sharp thing on top and the knob on the side. The Boss even said a good thing about me. Well, he didn't say anything bad - so the good is implied. And I have a great six pack of beer waiting for me when I get home. A friend of mine, a beer geek, highly recommended this, and since it's hard to find, I snapped it up when I saw the emerald cans.
And...the old lady is joining a dart's team tonite, so I won't even have to share - I'm sure they only drink Guiness anyway.
I open the door - and there on the table:

Imgur

Well, shit. She and her new buds already worked their way thru almost all of the six pack. I was thinking that I hope she's feeling bad about this when I looked on the couch.

Imgur

Boy, she must still be pissed about that forgetting her birthday thing.
Oh shit! Her birthday was today - is today.
Oh well, I thought, there's only one thing to do: Savor the one beer I have left. I took it out of the fridge and took a good look at the can.

Imgur

Stone Exalted IPA. Now that's a good start. And then it says: Hop Worshiper Series. Alright! At 7% alc, it might help me out a bit.
I figured there was only one glass I had worthy of this, my Game of Thrones chalice. I took them outside and gently poured...

Imgur

Alright. Now that is a beautiful glass of beer. Dark amber color with just the right amount of head. I sniffed it, and it was wonderful. A beautiful balance of citrous, hops and, you know, just that extra balance of...good beer.
So I took a sip. It had a nice, solid feel to it. For me, just the right balance of citrous, floral flavors, but not leaving out the actual beer. Just as good as the aroma. I sat in the sun for a few moments, drinking and smiling. I took a look at the rest of the can. Stone's descriptions of their beers are always entertaining.

Imgur

I smiled as I read this because I tend to agree with them on this version of their Exalted IPA. I'd heard that the better IPA breweries date their beer on the bottom, so I took a look.

Imgur

And there it was: a" canned" date, and then a " enjoy by" date. Well, I made it on time. Actually, a knowledgeable brewer friend of mine feels that it's best to drink IPAs within a month of brewing... Either way, I think it's generally best to check.
After finishing my initial glass I went back into the house, figuring I'd share this with the @beersaturday crew.

Imgur

This sight was just too depressing. I decided to go out and find some more Exalted IPA to stock my fridge.
And I should probably look for a Birthday Card too. And some flowers...or something.
And hoping she didn't sharpen her darts.

Note: For those who are interested, the Stone web site for this is great. Lots of information. It says that it's available nationwide (probably USA, not sure of elsewhere) , and... it even suggests foods for every course with Exalted IPA.
CHEERS !

Sort:  

Fun post. Made me smile, especially the 5 empty cans on the table. 😁

I hope you are able to find something nice for your other half! She deserves it I would say. 😊

Well, she could use a new set of darts... :-)) Thanks for the read and the comment.

Sounds like the perfect present to me! 😊

great post, I'm pretty sure I wouldn't like the beer that much but glad you got one of them at least. You are starting to follow the @meesterboom school of writing, funny stuff. keep it up!

Thanks for the read and the comment. Beer should be fun, right? This beer was really good. If you're going to try another IPA, it's a good place to start.

So if you didn't find and card or flowers or something would this have been your last beer ever? Would it be a good choice? I have to think so, but then again six 'last beers' would have been better than one.

Thanks, now I'll stay awake tonite wondering: beer or birthday...? But six would definitely be better! :-))

Cool post. Where are the flowers 🌺 and the birthday card ;-)

Thanks. Shit, I knew I forgot something....I'll get back to you.... :-))

I can't believe you forgot your wife's birthday! Well I hope you made it up to her somehow.

But great review. Very funny. I'm still wondering what the pointy thing is that you sold.

It's a left-sided flanget with a howder attachment. Apparently, they're hard to sell. :-)) Thanks for the review.

The beer really looks great.

It is. Stone beers can be very impressive - and consistent. Thanks for the read.

Not a big IPA fan, but I would be willing to try this one! Hope you'll check out the sour that I reviewed!

https://steemit.com/beersaturday/@anthony-t-clarke/wild-olivia-sour-ale
Wild Olivia 2.jpeg

Just a polite suggestion, perhaps avoid posting links to your own posts in other people's posts. It's a little rude.

He and I have commented back and forth and I was just making sure he would see this beer since I mentioned it to him last Saturday. Sorry if you feel it was rude or were offended in some way.

I'm definitely not offended or anything. Just wanted to let you know that it's often perceived as rude by the authors. If it's something you both do with each other then that's perfectly fine.

Sometimes I get people posting links to their own articles in my posts as a way of advertising their own material, which is why it can be seen as rude.

Gotcha. I see the misunderstanding. I’ll only do it if I speak with authors beforehand. Just look forward to spreading the word about great local beers.

Yeah for sure. Beer Saturday is an awesome competition and community of beer lovers. Glad to have you involved. :)

Thank you sir, I appreciate it and will look for more of your posts in there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59592.00
ETH 2545.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54