Happy Valley Beer

in #beersaturday6 years ago

I didn't even have to get kicked out of the house this week, I managed to get myself thrown out. Well, I had a kid. And he managed to get himself graduating from college, so I had to go and watch him do just that. So off to the land of hidden alcohol I went - to Provo, Utah. He graduated from Utah Valley University.
To get anything above 4% alc, you have to go to a State Liquor Store - there's only one in Provo:

Imgur

They make it look very inviting.
I wandered thru their various assortment of (all non-refrigerated) beers and picked a few unknowns. My son thought this one looked interesting.
A tradition of some schools (high schools or universities) is that if there is a hill, they put a school letter on it. The school by this hill is Brigham Young University, so, for some reason, they put a big-ass Y. It lights up at nite. Yay. Yes, they are huge mountains.

Imgur

It's from Epic Brewing, they say they were the first brewery in Utah to brew high alcohol content spirit since prohibition. This batch: Brainless Raspberries, a BelgiumStyle Ale checked in at 8.2% alc. Oddly enough, the web site says it's brewed in Denver. It's part of their Exponential Series and is made with 100% pureed raspberries.
My son and I hid in our secret location and poured each of us a glass.

Imgur

As you can see, there was very little head, and we could actually catch a whiff of raspberries and malt. Not a bad start. I was not very confident in this choice for experimentation, but it was his choice, so we drank.
It was better than expected and went down pretty smooth. I'm not a great taster of ales, but this wasn't too bad. My son, who says he likes bourbon best, actually said, for a beer it was very drinkable.

Imgur

And yes, it even looks like it has raspberries in it. That alone, does kind of catch your attention.
Brainless Raspberries even won a bronze medal at the Australian Beer Awards in 2015, so it does carry some cred with it.
I won't give this an unlimited thumbs up, but I think it's worth a try if you find it.

And yes, he did graduate and I'm very proud of him for it!

All pictures with my iPhone5. :-))
All Hail #BeerSaturday !

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-17T03:13:45
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 13.00/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I must say I am not a big fan of these fruit beers, and pink drinks is a big no-no to me.

Nice post and story to go with the beer.

I understand. It was, all in all, a happy adventure though. :-))

Hey man, huge congrats to your son for graduation... That's a big milestone, and getting to enjoy a beer with his Dad afterwards.. Quality stuff... Unusual sounding beer, but I'd definitely try it, and that's cool about how they put the Y on the mountain... Very Dedicated.... Be funny if their rival school climbed some night and changed it to a big N.... :o)

Thanks. It's been an adventure for him. And it was great to be there and do a beer adventure with him. He's sitting for a couple of months then going for his masters degree ( an MBA here). He's trying. Oh, and their rivals are the Univ of Utah about 50 miles north up the big valley. ..and they have a big U up on a hill... there are stories....:-))

An MBA, fair play to him, that will really stand to him in his career for sure... Adventures are always good!

Leave that U alone!!!! :D

ha ha :o)

Congrats on your son's graduation, man! :) What did he study?

Brainless Raspberries? Haha, what a name for a beer :) It looks very fancy! It's so unfortunate, though, that almost none of these beers are available in my country.

By the way, I am back in Iceland, and I gotta take a picture for you of one of the local state-run Liquor Stores :)

my sister went to the University of Utah - every time they won a gymnastics meet they got to "blow up" the giant U on the hill near campus. It was pretty cool, actually. They had a box similar to Wylie Coyote with the lever to press down to ignite and then they'd turn on some lights on the U.

Did you visit her there? It's kinda like a different world up there.
I had a daughter graduate form BYU, then BYU Law School. The 3 other kids all graduated from UVU. It's in Orem, just north of BYU. UVU beat BYU in basketball last year. :-)) A lot of heads probably exploded.
How'd your sister end up at the U?

A few times! It's really really pretty but everything is just so far away from everything else. I haven't been to any of the national parks there though, so definitely need to go back. Have you been to the Blue Plate Diner?

Full ride for gymnastics :) She was an alternate in the 2008 olympics and just finished her masters at Auburn and just tried out for Cirque Du Soleil in Vegas.

No Shit! Glad to meet you. Can you get me... I mean, us, tickets. :-))
What did she get her masters in?

LOL! Well she hasnt made it in just yet. she is going to the workshop at the end of June...and then we'll know. But if (when) she makes it, we'll have to plan a #socalsteemit road trip to Vegas for the show!!!

Bitchin idea!

oh, and i have no idea. i dont think she even knows. it wasnt her first choice, but the gymnastics program there afforded her a free masters degree in something that wasnt exactly what she wanted to do but was close enough? maybe sports marketing or something? she changes her mind every day. if cirque doesnt work out, she wants to open an air conditioned dog run someplace hot....

Chuckle chuckle. Hot? Fallbrook has a lot of dogs. Do you get along with her?

We are very much alike and do get along well. However....we haven't lived in the same state or even time zone for awhile now so who's to say how much we'd like each other if proximity was closer. My family and I get along so well because of the distance, hahaha. She's got her heart set on Vegas but if that doesn't work out then she wants to go back to SLC.

Hey, by the way, I nominated you for this if you have time... https://steemit.com/life/@ablaze/gratitude-day-1

If not, no bothers..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65178.97
ETH 3261.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68