AND LET US CELEBRATE!!

in #beersaturday6 years ago

She made it back from Las Vegas alive and well! And she told me where she hid the key to the house. It gets tiring sleeping under the patio table. But, I did make friends with a cute couple of doves in the banana tree and that hilarious raccoon - so there is an upside. To celebrate, her kids are coming over for a BarBQ. And I'm pulling a beer out of my reserve cabinet.

Imgur

Every beer I have ever had from The Lost Abbey has been superb. The old lady and I went to a wedding reception a few years ago and the groom had the wonderfully good taste to have a Lost Abbey beer in a keg. It was the best wedding - ever. Well my dear, except ours, of course..
Does this look great or what?

Imgur

To share my good taste with others at the BarBQ, I decided to have a tasting. In typical, high patio table style I laid out the glasses. Then I poured, and then Phil poured (he wouldn't even try it. "I hate malt.") And it didn't work very well. Then the young lady sitting back said, let me do it - and she did it.

Imgur

Imgur

She poured samples for many of the people there. As you can see from the bottle, it's an Abbey Quad with Raisins. Their web site says that it can be stored for a long time, hence it's meant to be stored and savored for Judgement Day, when the four riders of the Apocalypse come riding down upon us. Something good enough to enjoy at the final day.... and to live life the fullest until then.

Imgur

The Lost Abbey Brewery broke off from Pizza Port Breweries a while back when one brother decided he wanted to and was good at brewing the darker, more abbeyish ales. Besides being verbose, he makes very good beer. And more expensive. This 750 ml bottle was about $14. I buy their brand seldom and only drink it on special occasions because of that. This special occasion was getting back into the house and she got back safe. (of course, what happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas :-))

My opinion: This beer was excellent and worth every penny. At first sip, you could taste the malt and the raisins (which I understand are caramelized). It blended very well, with neither tasting overwhelming. It is 10.5% alc, so it not a beer to drink all day. They describe it as going well with sweet dishes or an after-dinner beer.
Others: The ex-husband loved it. He thought it was very smooth and was just right (He usually drinks whiskey). His wife (who's from New Orleans) didn't like it much at all. My wife (who's from Germany) really enjoyed her sip.
Her son (who was a head brewer for Pizza Port) just sat and smiled as he swirled it around in his mouth tasting every flavor it had to offer.

It is too much of a beer for day time full bottle drinking - although it may be worth a try some day. Maybe I'll bury a bottle or two for the next time I get locked out of the house! But it was an enjoyable afternoon of discovery.
If you find Lost Abbey beer near you, you really need to give them a try. To see what a web site with an attitude looks like, you should check theirs out.
Everybody wants some:

Imgur

All photos taken with my iphone5S. I apologize for pictures being so large. I tried a different transfer system....I'll work on it.
All hail #BeerSaturday !
Thanks to Dan, the big-ass rooster, for his "cooperation".
Shout out to @bigskycustoms who encourages all non-IPA beers. :-))

Sort:  

You have to love a wedding with a) a keg of beer b) good beer.

You are right. I think it should be a requirement. :-))

I have never heard of beer that held up for long term storage, interesting. Cuz, yeah, come Judgement Day Imma gonna wanna beer.

These would be a good place to start. Plus....they have those really cool corks!

Those corks are fabulous, I must concur!

you're welcome to come crash on our patio next time you are locked out. We've got some bird friends, and a ton of lizards too! I think its mating season. :P

Thanks for the patio offer, but I get the feeling you're trying to hook me up with some horny lizards. :-))

LOL just kidding. We also have a very comfy couch bed :P

grassyass (that's San Diegan for Gracias) :-))

I thought you were pointing out my habits.

sounds like you had a great time trying that beer!!
Nice rooster :)

The rooster was "herding" the hens. He takes his job very seriously. :-))

Your reserve cabinet? Lol, I guess you only keep special beers for special occasions inside :) I am now in a IPA-mood, so I am not sure if I'd consider drinking something as strong as this one.

That said, if the Judgment day ever comes, I will surely have a bottle (or two) of strong beer.

By the way, who's the ex-husband? Your wife's ex? 😁

Yeah, their kids are the ones that all live nearby. We all get along well and get together fairly regularly. Good to be civilized. My kids all live out of state. I'm liking the concept of a few bottles of good "stored beer." Gotta have goals. :-))

Ha ha I earned a shout for being ant-IPA. Boom my job here is complete. In general I’m not a big fan of Belgian beers but there are a few I like and I would be willling to try this one since you talk up Lost Abbey a lot. Glad you liked it. Interesting back story on the start of lost Abbey as I just had that beer from Pizza Port

I'd be very interested in your reaction to one of their brews. They have a kinda wide variety, but it would be worth it to try if you find one. Cheers Dude!

Great review mate. Glad you get to sleep in an actual bed again. That beer looks fantastic. I’ve never had a quad Ale before. I’m keen to try one.

Oh and remind me to give you a neat little code that lets you adjust picture size in your post. I’m on the phone right now so don’t have it on hand.

Thanks. I enjoyed doing this review. Consider this a reminder for the picture size adjust - no hurry. I was just told that any upvote on a comment that is less than .03 is rounded down, so wasted with no impact. Does this sound familiar to you?

Quadruples are among my favorites, and this one has a great theme and story as well. I would love to try it!

I feel fortunate that I can. It was my first adventure into quads. Cheers!

Congratulations @dennisauburn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

wow cool beer bottle I like beers that come in those old style tops that swing on and off. Feel free to check out my entry for this week https://steemit.com/beersaturday/@isteemithard/orange-ipa-and-la-rossa-steemit-beersaturday-challenge-week-46

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70992.50
ETH 3860.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52