Drinking in igloos

in #beersaturday4 years ago

It’s winter in Michigan which means it’s igloo season. These igloos are all the rage right now. They are a great way to stay warm and a even better background for an instagram picture.

27672DA1-AB8A-4051-90BF-818DDF818D32.jpeg

Hop Lot Brewing was one of the first breweries to create these igloo villages. They have like 12 shelters placed around the brewery. They also have a large fire pit that’s a great gathering place to meet people and stay warm. This trip I ended up trying their Soury 'Bout That. This is a fruited sour made from 100% real Leelanau strawberries.

The aroma is mildly tart and fruit forward. I get fresh strawberries and sweet jam notes. It’s mildly acidic and earthy.

A4208497-8B34-471C-9675-97CA0FD48272.jpeg

It was a pretty beer. A nice ruby red color that was very clear and crisp. It had a mild amount of carbonation which was present in a white head that faded quickly.

73CA1370-8A25-4198-94AA-0872419CA219.jpeg

It’s a very tart and flavorful beer. I get sweet fruit notes that were strawberry forward. It had a few more bitter and malty notes, but it’s way sweeter than anything else. It finishes tart. There’s a tipping point we’re it goes from sweet to a mouth pucker sour. I really enjoyed this transition because it’s more complex than just a heavy hit of sweetness.

I find my self liking more earthy flavors in my sours. I’m not into artificial sour. I’m looking for that lemon like pucker. This beer definitely satisfied my tastes.

Sort:  

Beer!! I like the look of it. I am following you now in a creepy way :O)

I’m a fan of mouth breathing if you want to get real creepy.

HopLot is the best! We stopped there right around the time they first opened several years ago. We were on a winery tour and HopLot was our last stop. I have a colleague that just retired and moved up to that area with her husband. According to her Facebook page, they spend a ton of time there. When we went, they were just starting to work on the hop plants for the bier garten and the igloos were non existent. That is such a great area of the state. Nice review!

They have come a long way in just a few years. When we were there I swear there had to be at least 150 people there. Seems like they are doing very well for themselves. Not to mention the beer and food was pretty good.

What a stunning looking brewery.

Interesting place with the igloo's!! Looks like a nice !BEER too!!


Hey @cryptictruth, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58251.90
ETH 3138.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24