Chocolate Cherry Stout

in #beersaturday6 years ago

Well crypto prices, more specifically Steem prices have got me wanting something strong this week. I decided to break into my beer cellar and pull out a Dragon's Milk Reserve Cherry Chocolate by New Holland Brewing.

1E9F9DC2-0541-4F03-A581-F92AF2C9D894.jpeg

This is not my first time drinking or sharing this beer. However, this beer has had some time to age which has changed the overall flavor profile.

790FBFE1-1773-4315-BD69-DAB471A5D20B.jpeg

At 11% ABV it was able to take the sting of these prices right out of me. That alcohol content also makes this beer the perfect candidate for aging.

A463768C-723D-4330-8B09-5F2E439930FD.jpeg

This beer still pours dark and creamy. I’d say it is a pretty damn good looking pour if I do say so myself. The nose is more mellow that when I first tried it. It’s still got a lot of cherry, chocolate and a delightful hint of bourbon.

I have to say with a little aging this may be the best cherry-flavored beer I've had. Honestly, though it should be coming from Michigan. The cherry is tart and refreshing. I can taste the chocolate but it's subtle. The bourbon is even more delicate. you know it's there but it doesn't distract or overpower the other flavors.

3AF1BE16-22A2-4686-B626-B79A286F1062.jpeg

Overall, this is a fine variant of the original Dragon's Milk, which is amazing on its own.

#beersaturday
Cheers,
Cryptictruth

Sort:  

That's interesting about aging a beer... it makes sense that this works better with high % beers like this one.. The flavours you describe sound very appetising indeed 👍

I age a lot of beer and looking back most are higher ABV stouts. I have a few IPAs that I need to try to see how they have held up.

Looks good!

I had a NICE stout last night from the new brewery https://steemit.com/beersaturday/@zekepickleman/jobsite-brewing-grand-opening and it had a smokey taste. I generally don't like smokey but this was really nice and subtle.

I need to get over there for a tour.....

Thanks! It looks like you had a good time. You have an eye for beer photography!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-08T21:35:48
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 1610.34/3200.00
Total Photos: 232
Total comments: 85
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 1.65 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53801.93
ETH 2252.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26