New Beer Review - Vanilla Porter

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)

Ok, feeling a bit better last night, thought I would break the drought and have a beer. I had received a shipment of beers from a friend in North Dakota, and he shipped me some beers I don't have access to around here, one of which was a tasty looking vanilla porter from a Colorado brewery.

Breckinridge Brewery - Vanilla Porter

IMG-3819.JPG

Stats

  • Brewer: Breckinridge Brewery - Breckinridge, Colorado
  • Alcohol Content - 5.4% by volume
  • IBU: 16
  • Company Description: Real vanilla beans from Madagascar combined with caramel and Munich malts create a beer that’s balanced and flavorful. Aromas of vanilla and toasted grain set the stage for mellow flavors of vanilla and dark roasted malts. Don’t let its deep mahogany color fool you. Vanilla Porter is dark in color and packed with flavor, yet it is as smooth as they come and easy to enjoy at any time of the year.

Vanilla Porter - Refresh 6pk.png

Packaging
This beer came in a 12 oz brown bottle with a main body label and a circular neck label. I posted a picture from the brewers website of a 6 pack, and the graphics are different on the website so I must have an older version bottle. An attractive yet subtle art work, shows a couple of vanilla plant parts around the company logo on a vanilla colored label. In looking at their website, it appears this is the standard beer container although cans are also sold for some beers. I didn't see any evidence of 22 oz bottles.

IMG-3821.JPG

The Beer

  • Appearance: A nice dark brown color with a minor light tan foam head that disappeared pretty quickly.
  • Aroma: Veyr noticeable vanilla aroma from the beer on the pour.
  • Taste/Mouthfeel: This is a smooth beer in the mouth with a sweet finish. The taste was strong on the vanilla and pretty sweet, bordering on overly sweet. It was only lightly carbonated and lighter than expected.
  • Drinkability: It was a drinkable beer, if sweet turns you off, maybe not one you would love but still a good porter, and I liked it, the sweetness was almost too much but just short so didn't seem TOO sweet. The vanilla was definitely noticeable and the predominant taste as would be expected.

IMG-3820.JPG

Rating and Final Thoughts


My ratings are all based on my Untappd ratings, and I gave this a solid + rating of 4.25, seven friend ratings were 3.93 and overall with 195K ratings, was 3,79, so I liked it a lot, my friends were not far behind and of the many many thousands of ratings it was pretty high, so a popular beer, pretty well liked nationwide.

4.25/5

Thanks for looking, I will be putting this in #beersaturday Week 42 contest, (https://steemit.com/beersaturday/@detlev/whooot-beersaturday-in-week-42-offers-15-sbd-15-sbd-in-prizes-enjoy-it) which just opened, so after checking this out, head on over there to give a vote which helps my chances of winning some SP. Cheerio!

Sort:  

With all that smooth vanilla flavor, I'm wondering how good of a float that it would make. Much like a root beer float you can get a beer float at some restaurants. Draughtworks in missoula sometimes does them. And I found that Stouts usually work okay as floats if they're slightly carbonated. But the beer can't be very hoppy at all, so a vanilla porter sounds like something that should be tested... :)

ha, I have never tried that. This one was low on hoppiness and pretty sweet so I bet it would work.

Damn you! I was going to do a review for this one tonight! You beat me to the punch lol. Nice review though. This is my favorite vanilla porter.

How can that be? It is not from your favorite brewery there in Omaha! :)
Go ahead and lets see what you think if it. I liked it but the sweetness was ALMOST too much.

I do stray away from Brickway from time to time lol. And yeah I agree, it is a little sweet but as long as I don't drink more than 2 in one setting, it's usually okay.

Well done review! Great pictures. I'm thinking that the beer may not be something I would buy - but as usual, something I would try. :-))
Glad you're back up and going dude.

thanks Dennis. that is what I do with most beers, try them. Go for it!

I had my first Vanilla beer in me last weeks beer saturday post. Mine was delicious. I would love to try another. Great post!
This week I posted about going back to Philly
https://steemit.com/beersaturday/@dadview/have-a-philadelphia-beer-with-dadview

Thanks! I’ll check out your post and follow you.

Hi! A bit random maybe, but it’s rare to find a fellow Montanan here! My absolute favorite beer is Kettlehouse Coldsmoke! Mmm I seriously haven’t bought anything else for ages. Cheers to MT! 🍻 see ya round the steem!

Hi, where are you located in Montana. My son, who lives in Missoula is on here @jakeybrown and the two above in the comments section, @jamethiel and @lordvdr are both from Lolo. Cold Smoke is one of my very favorite beers also.

I’m in Bozeman! It’s dumping here today! ❄️❄️❄️

We got about 3” last night

And thx for the tags, I went and followed them all! ;)

cool, how did you happen across this post anyway?

Good question! Idk! I think I followed you awhile back? I saw “Bigsky” and knew! Not sure where I saw you. I’m really just learning how to best use steemit. I was going through my following list today (cleaning out dead accts) and before I deleted you, went to your blog to check it out!

I just did my first contest a few days ago! If you have a funny fail or success story you should share it! It’s a guarantee.05 payout, plus my prizes! shameless plug 😊

I like sweet in a porter so can see me enjoying this!

Ive had people say they would make a vanilla porter float with ice cream, I have not tried that but it sounds delicious. This is what I drank tonight. Might post about it, not sure yet. Pure coffee.
773A7F23-84B7-4399-BB31-B92D91263486.jpeg

I really like the coffee ones. You should always pay about them. Do you put your post links in the beer category in steemit chat btw?

I’ll post it later. Do you mean do I tag #beer? Yes , but if you mean something else then I’m not sure what you mean?

Ah, it might help, it might not but if you go to steemit chat

https://steem.chat/home

There is a channel called Beer. In there people put links to their beer posts. The beer community is quite small so I am sure it would help you pick up some votes.

If you can't find it the direct link to the channel is

https://steem.chat/channel/beer

You will have to register as a new user. Most people make their user name the same as their steemit name to avoid confusion. Create a new password (obvs) and don't use your steemit one.

If any of that is clear as mud let me know :0)

awww,brilliant, I will check that out. thanks for the tip meester!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.09
Server time: 20:28:22
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 92.20/100.00
Total Photos: 17
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64454.42
ETH 3179.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57