New Beer Review - Limited Coffee Brown Ale

A new beer review, only a day later than my last one. Timing has worked out well. This is another limited series by the Colorado brewer Upslope. A coffee Brown ale. how does it rate? Read on my pretty.

Upslope Brewing - Ozo Coffee Brown Ale

IMG-3643.JPG

Stats

  • Brewery: Upslope Brewing - Boulder, Colorado, USA
  • Alcohol Content: 6.7% by volume
  • IBUs: 45
  • Company Description:We infused our award winning Brown Ale with Mocha Java Coffee- a blend of both Indonesian and African coffees from our friends and neighbors at OZO Coffee- to create this supremely smooth and roasty ale.

IMG-3644.JPG
IMG-3645.JPG

Presentation
As with the previous Upslope Taproom Series beer I recently reviewed, this comes in a 19.2 oz aluminum can with gray and brown graphics on a white background, pretty plain jane graphics, but it is in line with the rest of their beers with the Upslope shield and some additional information such as listing the ingredients, specs, characteristics and abv/ibu. All the Upslope beers I have seen come in cans, the Taproom series in 19.2, most of their regular and seasonals come in 12 oz cans.

IMG-3646.JPG

The Beer

  • Appearance: Red brown with a thick khaki foam head (I did a pretty agressive pour) that lasted well and had some moderate lacing.
  • Aroma: Strongly smelled of fresh ground coffee.
  • Taste: This beer had a strong coffee taste, almost overwhelming, tasted more like coffee than beer. Light to medium bodied. Definite roasty tastes also.
  • Mouthfeel: Slightly carbonated with a bitterness on the tongue and a dry finish.
  • Drinkability: Certainly drinkable but the coffee taste was one of the strongest I have had in such a beer. The 19.2 oz can was plenty for me in one sitting.

IMG-3648.JPG

Rating and Final Thoughts


I rated this beer a 4.0 on Uptappd, which was right in line with the rest of Untappd where it has an overall rating of 3.99. I liked it but thought the coffee taste was maybe over done, too strong, tasted more like I was drinking cold coffee vs a beer with coffee added. This was not necessarily a bad thing, just limited my desire to drink more than one per sitting. If you like coffee a lot, this beer would be a winner for you. If you like brown ales, you better like coffee.

4.0/5

This post will make it to #BeerSaturday so if you do enjoy my review, go check the Week 39 contest out and give it a vote over there also. Please feel free to comment and give me a follow. I will be adding a lot more beer reviews in the future. Thanks and Cheers!

Sort:  

Upslope makes some great beer. I'm lucky to be on their press list. I had this the other night:

they do, I really liked their Mexican Chocolate Porter a few days ago, this one was a bit over the top with the coffee taste. I haven't seen that beer before. We get a limited selection of their beers here in Montana, although I have tried probably 7-8 types.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 03:37:44
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 8.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63747.88
ETH 3130.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89