Beer Review - A Red Velvet Cake Oatmeal Stout Nitro!!??!!??

You read right, this is an unusual beer alright, called Red Velvet it brings to mind the taste of the very red velvet cake it is named after but it is made with beets! Yes beets, who would dare add beets to beer? Well read on my friends!

Ballast Point Brewing - Red Velvet Nitro Oatmeal Stout

IMG-3735.JPG

Stats

  • Brewery: Ballast Point Brewing - San Diego, California, USA
  • Alcohol Content: 5.5% by volume
  • IBUs: 33
  • Company Description: This stout takes the cake. Our Red Velvet oatmeal stout is a mind-bending beer. Like the cake that inspired it, the deep red color comes from beets, which add a rich, earthy character that complements the chocolate flavor and aroma. The foamy head of the nitro pour is our “icing”, adding a creamy smoothness to the mouthfeel. But this liquid dessert still finishes like a beer – not sweet, but just as satisfying.

IMG-3736.JPG
IMG-3737.JPG

Presentation
This beer comes in a 12 oz brown bottle with very attractive and cool wrap around graphics on the body and the classic Ballast Point logo on a small neck label. The wrap about is actually a very thin plastic which has Ballast Points trademark skeletons enjoying a sumptuous feast lead by their King who is enjoying a beautiful red velvet cake. There are also pouring instructions on the label (which I ignored to my detriment). Ballast Point sells beer in 12 oz bottles and cans and 22 oz bottles. They have a pretty wide distribution and are more of a macro brewery with the number of beers they produce and ship out across the nation and internationally also I believe.

IMG-3738.JPG

The Beer

  • Appearance: This beer is a dark red and I messed up with the pour but since it is a nitro, it should have a lovely head, my bad on the pour though, so none in the picture.
  • Aroma: It had an earthy aroma, very slight hints of chocolate and malts.
  • Taste: It is a very light beer for a stout, and believe it or not, it indeed does taste like red velvet cake. Hard to believe with beets in it. Subtle Chocolate and oatmeal also.
  • Mouthfeel: Very smooth in the mouth and around the tongue, thanks to the nitro. Had a sweet finish but not overly.
  • Drinkability: A very drinkable beer, I would envision myself having several at a sitting. Lightly sweet with that rich cake finish, yum. And at 5/5% abv, not going to knock you on your ass after a few.

IMG-3739.JPG

Rating and Final Thoughts


This is the second time I have had this beer, so I have rated it twice on Untappd, the first time I gave it a lofty 4.5, the second I actually lowered the rating to 4.25, as it just didn't seem to taste the same. Still a very good beer as @dennisauburn will agree as I talked him into trying it a few weeks back. Six friends have drank and rated it an average of 3.92, while Untappd in general feels it is a 3.54 beer. I contend no matter the beer taste you favor you will find this to be a good beer. Not overly sweet but still tastes like cake! I mean come on, who doesn't like Cake?

4.33/5

This post will make it to #BeerSaturday so if you do enjoy my review, go check the Week 40 contest out and give it a vote over there also. Please feel free to comment and give me a follow. I will be adding a lot more beer reviews in the future. Thanks and Cheers!

Sort:  

Looks excellent. So how are you meant to pour it? I love the label

It’s a nitro so you’re supposed to dump it in forthwith and I poured it lady like and got basically none of the typical nitro foamy cap. I habe a sneaky suspicion that this particular beers was not good, the one I had previously was amazing and that is more what the review represents while this one was ok

I thought it was a dump it in job!

That’s what you’re supposed to do but like I said, I dribbled it over the edge, very unmanly

Looks like something I would like to give a try, great post!!

if you see it, give it a try, I guarantee you won't be disappointed!

Nice! Have not tried this yet! WANT!

Do they sell Ballast Point in Chicago? If you see it try it!

It does taste weirdly like red velvet cake. Very tasty. I can image it even smoother on nitro.

I’ve had it twice both from big heads, first time nearly a year ago and it seemed a bit better the first time, wasn’t as good this time, taste wasn’t as intense. I’ve only seen the nitro version

We've had that beer a few times and really enjoy it. I haven't had it on Nitro yet though so now I am very curious. Will have to look for it when we are out and about!

I saw it at big heads and Pattee Creek Market, maybe at Fresh Market too

Good to know!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.20 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.04
Server time: 03:36:24
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 38.75/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67118.32
ETH 3521.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20