Rochefort Trappistes 8 - Beer Review with @ablaze

in #beersaturday6 years ago

Not an IPA for a change!

After weeks and weeks of lovely hoppy IPAs, I've changed it up this week and gone for a tried and trusted Belgium beer. Have a read and see what you think of this classic.

This week's beer of the week is Rochefort Trappistes 8

Screenshot_2018-07-30-21-04-05.png

At 9.2% it's closer to wine than beer!

To be fair, it was lovely and smooth and even though it was 9.2%, you'd hardly notice. It would not be the most sessionable though. For me two of these would be enough and then I'd move onto something else.

Screenshot_2018-07-30-21-04-33.png

Where and when did I sample?

I sampled this at home after putting my sons to bed. Shortly before this we enjoyed planting some vegetables from seed. More on that here.

So I took some shots of both the beer and plants, as I always snap my beer with something else!

Screenshot_2018-07-30-21-05-11.png

Screenshot_2018-07-30-21-04-49.png

I'll even throw a joke in this week..

I apologise in advance for how bad it is! :o)

Screenshot_2018-07-31-10-43-40.png

It's not always easy to find the thyme for these beer reviews

Ha ha, told ya it was terrible! I'll get my coat!!

Moving swiftly along..

The Info

Brewery: Rue de lAbbaye 8, Rochefort, Belgium 5580
Strength: 9.2 %
Bottle: 330ml
What they say: Rochefort Trappistes 8 is a full bodied and well balanced, caramel-bitter, dark Trappist. Best served in a branded chalice glass, with or without the sediment.

The verdict

This is a premium beer and it shows. Nicely balanced and smooth. The aroma on opening was of dried fruit, and malt. The taste had hints of raisins, bread and cream The taste if refreshing and full of the regular cream and finishes with a nice taste of herbs.

The colour was a lovely dark rusted iron colour, with great depth and character. On pouring, it formed a nice head, which did dissappear quite quickly, so lacing was minimal.

Screenshot_2018-07-30-21-04-58.png

The Grade

3.5/5

Peace out,

@ablaze

Sort:  

Ha ha... ya, quite the kick to it.. ya wouldnt be drinking a six pack of it! :o)

Hi @ablaze,

I really like this beer as well. But as you said

Don‘t drink a six pack from this

Yep, you can say that again :o)

Looks interesting. 9.2% wooo, that'll knock you after a few.

It certainly would!! And I reckon it would be pretty sneaky... I feel fine, sure I only had 6 of them... Then you go to stand up, and kiss the floor!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ablaze from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58225.92
ETH 3120.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50