You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homebrewing 101: Part 2 - 2.5 days update

in #beer7 years ago

About how long from pitch to a really good fermentation? Is 50 hours when it first got really going? Also, what's tour temperature at? I'm kind of a fermentation geek, but with grapes. :)

Sort:  

This yeast strain has always been good to me. For this particular brew I noticed the first signs, krausen forming, about 16 hours after pitching. It probably happened a bit earlier, but I haven't looked at it until then.
The starting temp was 21, it's running a bit hot now at 22-23(this is the temp of the outside of the vessel, so inside would be a bit warmer), but I'm not very worried about that, this yeast can handle it and it will just taste a bit fruitier. The temp in my brewing cupboard is around 18 now, it's not controlled in any way.

The fermentation will finish by day 5-6 probably, my starting gravity was 1036, it should drop to 1006, maybe a touch lower too, I aim for 1004.

Since I can remember, my family has been making wine every year. About 200 litres, depending on the harvest. I didn't realise until recently how interesting our style actually is. It's pure grape wine, nothing added; no sugar, not even yeast, just relying on the wild strains presents. I love that wine, I can drink litres of it, hangovers are also milder. Too bad I live far away from them now, I only get my hands on that wine a few times a year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58572.58
ETH 2551.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47