Homebrewing 101: Part 2 - 2.5 days updatesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

It's AAAAALIIIIIIIIIVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

So a few days ago we started a new brew.

It's been about 50 hours since we pitched the yeast in and it's going crazy. The lid looks like it's ready to blow and we can see a nice layer of krausen on the top. Krausen is a foam of yeast and wort proteins; it can look quite gunky at times but it's nothing to worry about.
20170616_085441.jpg

My little beer baby started talking to me, it's so sweet! Not even joking, you can listen to it bellow.

Oh, they grow up so fast!

Thanks

Sort:  

Nice

"It's alive!!! " ha haa :))

Thanks mate!

I'm a member of the Central Florida Homebrewers and we're in the middle of judging our Sunshine Challenge. Keep brewing!

https://steemit.com/beer/@everybitmatters/how-to-become-a-beer-judge-in-two-simple-steps-musings-from-a-central-florida-homebrewer

Awesome!
I enjoyed your post on judging beer. Please do the live stream, if it's not too late for that!

I'm going to try a live broadcast tomorrow. I'll let everyone know later.

Perfect! I'll check that out.

About how long from pitch to a really good fermentation? Is 50 hours when it first got really going? Also, what's tour temperature at? I'm kind of a fermentation geek, but with grapes. :)

This yeast strain has always been good to me. For this particular brew I noticed the first signs, krausen forming, about 16 hours after pitching. It probably happened a bit earlier, but I haven't looked at it until then.
The starting temp was 21, it's running a bit hot now at 22-23(this is the temp of the outside of the vessel, so inside would be a bit warmer), but I'm not very worried about that, this yeast can handle it and it will just taste a bit fruitier. The temp in my brewing cupboard is around 18 now, it's not controlled in any way.

The fermentation will finish by day 5-6 probably, my starting gravity was 1036, it should drop to 1006, maybe a touch lower too, I aim for 1004.

Since I can remember, my family has been making wine every year. About 200 litres, depending on the harvest. I didn't realise until recently how interesting our style actually is. It's pure grape wine, nothing added; no sugar, not even yeast, just relying on the wild strains presents. I love that wine, I can drink litres of it, hangovers are also milder. Too bad I live far away from them now, I only get my hands on that wine a few times a year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43