The Great American Beer Festival

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

800 breweries, 3,800 beers, and all in Denver. The Great American Beer Festival was quite the experience. I never thought I would get to go- the tickets are pretty expensive. Thanks to a steemit meetup I went to, I finally got the opportunity! Shout-out to @lpfaust and @rebele93 for the door prize at the meetup.

IMG_4067.JPG

How we got there
Parking in downtown Denver is always dicey at best but during an event? Rough doesn't even cut it. Our transportation system can't be beaten though- especially since they have started putting in the trains. We parked our car for free outside of the park and ride station off Broadway (normally it's $4, but if you're willing to walk, find parking for free and just walk to the station). Then we paid $5.20 for two tickets there, 4 stops later, and we were dropped off right in front of the Convention Center, where the Great American Beer Festival was being held. It was super convenient- and even more useful when we were sauced and had to get home!

Entry
The line to get in started long before the starting time. We had Saturday afternoon tickets, which were members only, so it was supposed to be slower. However, the line to get in snaked completely around the convention center, which is an 800,000 square foot building. It took maybe 30 minutes to get to security, but once we were there, they moved fast. We removed everything that was metal, went through the metal detectors, scanned our tickets, and we were in!

IMG_4070.JPG
Everyone waiting to get in- tons of people!

IMG_4069.JPG
Our tasting glasses were real glass. This was a bit of a problem on concrete floors.

The Beer Experience
All the breweries were laid out by location- A started on the upper east coast, moving south and then west. By noon we had hit one small corner of the convention center, meandering our way from brewery to brewery and stopping at the ones that had descriptive beer names. This may be an unpopular opinion, but I really love fruity beers, and I'm not into ones that are heavily hopped. Saisons, goses, and cream ales were some of my favorites. At the last Mile High Beer Festival I attended, I realized that I could not remember the name of any of my favorite beers, so this year I took photos of some of my favorites so that I could remember them more easily. My absolute favorite was a pomegranate gose from Three Notched Brewing Company in Virginia. There were a ton of good ones, however.

IMG_4073.JPG

IMG_4074.JPG

IMG_4088.JPG

IMG_4078.JPG
One of their beers was called Winter is Here- I'm a sucker for a fun name

IMG_4094.JPG
The one called The Last Unicorn caught my eye here

The Food Experience
This was probably the worst part of the festival, unfortunately. We stopped at one of the vendors that were provided by the convention center and paid $16 for one cold burger and even colder fries. I think we missed the good food in the Paired presentation, where restaurants provided small plates paired with specific beers. I believe you had to have a separate ticket for that though. Anyway, a pretzel necklace would have been nice. I did end up waiting in line for a cheese buffet, which was delicious.

The People
Everyone I met, from the brewers to the attendees to the security staff, were super nice. Even after some of them were obviously drunk, no one seemed to get angry or frustrated. There were no outside food or drink allowed; except for what you could wear. So there were some interesting pretzel necklaces. There was even a gentleman who had a pretzel hat!

IMG_4119.JPG

Conclusion
All in all, it was a great time! We tried a ton of beers, got about halfway through the breweries, met some fun people, and did I mention tried a ton of good beer? I think I would have slowed down a little, collected some additional swag, and maybe taken advantage of some of the other things that were available besides the beer. I highly recommend the festival if you get a chance to go!


writersblock.gif


mspgif.gif


IMG_3826 (2).JPG
Photos and text are property of Sunravelme

Sort:  

i almost missed this! i need to put u on notify. this is such a sweet article, it makes me wish i liked beer more. the festival sounds like fun!

It was soooo much fun!

Awesome getting to meet you last night! So glad you enjoyed the Beer Festival! Cheers! @rebele93

It was great! Thanks for organizing the meetup and the fun door prizes!

I think that is heaven :))

Certainly the closest I have ever been!

I enjoyed your excursion...i am not fond of beer but glad you were able to sip your beer. Nice article.

Thank you lovely! I started liking beer a few years ago when I realized it didn't all taste like Budweiser!

lol I haven't acquired a taste yet, welcome!

I'm totally a sucker for the names too. I want to try the Last Unicorn!!

Not only did it have a good name, but it was delicious!

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're featured in our Daily Travel Digest Post!

I think the reason it's not working properly right now is because you didn't end it with the d3scr tag (so make sure to do that)!
E.g.:
!steemitworldmap 39.7392 lat 104.9903 long The Great American Beer Festival d3scr

Also make sure the coordinates are correct, because now it's showing up in China, haha!

Thank you! I think I fixed it!

The Brooklyn Brew Pub photo summed it up for me, on the chalkboard beside the tap stack enclosure...

"What goes best with your beer?"

Whiskey!

Yep. Nailed it!

Glad you had fun and got home safely.

lol We all know how you feel about whiskey ;) I think a whiskey tasting would have been an entirely different experience.

It would have been much tastier to me!

Holy shit that's a lot of people, especially considering that beer is not the most famous export of the US.

I wonder what can it feel like compared to what I see here in Europe.

Craft beer is gaining ground here, for sure. This might be a silly question, but do they do beer festivals in Europe?

Found you on travel digest. Enjoyed your post almost as much as I enjoy beer! Have to jump in here to mention Oktoberfest in Munich, the mother of all beer festivals. I'm sure there are others too throughout Europe, but Oktoberfest was awesome. It didn't have quite the number of beers on offer, but what they had were very very good, and the food was much much better than you had in Denver!

Oktoberfest in Germany is on my bucket list! Can't go wrong with beer in Munich!

Honestly? I have no idea, but I'd surprised if they didn't. Here in Hungary, we have some smaller (but unique in the scope of the country) festivals for wine and I guess there are for pálinka (our national distilled beverage), too, but beer is more popular in countries like the Czech Rep., Germany, Belgium and Austria.

Hungary has beer brands, too - in fact, my residing city has a brewery, and its brand isn't so well-known, but I kinda like it.

Glad you had an awesome time. When Jakob and I went, Red Robin was giving away free French fries with their beer tasting, so we grabbed some of those during the tasting spree.

It was heaven on earth.

Ah jealous! By the time I got to the section Red Robin was in, the line was forever long and we had only 25 minutes left. That sounds amazing!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sunravelme from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57