Beer and Pizza: The South-African way.

in #beer7 years ago

Beer and Pizza: The South-African way
IMG_9688.jpg
The other day @stardust and I went to eat some pizzas in a small restaurant. The restaurant's name was Pizzeria Milan. Here I decided to have a SOL beer as this was the only beer except for the normal South African beers they had. Below you can see the front of the bottle, note it says Original Mexico
IMG_9668.jpg
Below is the label a bit closer, the design is quite nice.
IMG_9670.jpg
Below you can see the back, the beer sports a moderate 4.5% alcohol, and is thus on the light side. Now note the interesting part: Produced in the Netherlands So here I am in South-Africa, in an Italian Restaurant, drinking Mexican beer, brewed in the Netherlands. If you read the label in a bit more detail, you will see this was done for Heineken SA. This does not make much sense to me.
IMG_9683.jpg
Below, I poured the beer and it looks quite nice, nice color, nice bubbles, nice foamy head.
IMG_9685.jpg
Below is the foamy head from above, it looks quite good....
IMG_9691.jpg
...but then I tasted it and I was not impressed. It just didn't do it for me, I can't really put my finger on what I did not like, but I did not enjoy this bear.

As I said, we were in an Italian Pizzeria, and as one do in a pizzeria, one orders Pizza!! They had a nice wood fired oven that can be seen below!! This was very nice as we are in the middle of winter here in South-Africa. This Italian restaurant is owned by a South-African man, and then I heard the cook is a Russian lady - how will this turn out???
IMG_9662.jpg
I ordered a not so traditional chicken liver pizza, it cam on a wooden board as can be seen below!!
IMG_9692.jpg
This one did not disappoint, just look at it from close up - nice, very nice!! and delicious!!
IMG_9693.jpg
Below is just another photo to get your mouth watering, this was real good.
IMG_9699.jpg

All in all we had a good time, as this is a small cozy restaurant. The Russian cook is actually the wife of the owner, the waiter is the father of the owner, thus it is a family restaurant, where they still speak to the customers and give good personalized service.

So I was in South-Africa eating at an Italian restaurant, owned by a South-African man, with a Russian cook, drinking Mexican beer, brewed in the Netherlands, for Heineken SA, weird!! But it was nice!!

The photos were taken by me with my iPhone.

Hope you enjoyed it.

Sort:  

Interesting story: a Mexican beer brewed in the Netherlands in an Italian restaurant in South Africa!
I also find unusual that one of the ingredients of the beer is: glucose syrup.

Yes, it is strange, and I personally did not like the beer.

Thanks for the reply

Omg, pizza and beer, you gonna make me break my diet :P

Stand strong - sorry for the temptation.

is that beer any good ?

I did not like it.

what was wrong with it? What other beer can you compare it to?

Eish international here in the rainbow nation!

Yummy pizza hungry again :)

Food photos tend to make one hungry!!

I wish i could have beer and pizza, but my wife wants me to go on a diet :)

@macbaren
beer and pizza is great but your wife has a good reason to ensure you live healthier... you lucky to have a loving and caring wife by your side... nice comment

You better listen to your wife, or on the other hand......

The last bit with all the different countries made me laugh, that's cool. I like sol a lot!

me too...made me laugh also...nice comment
are you also a beer lover.. @jonjon1

Thanks, yes it is interesting how things work these days, the country of origin, might not be the manufacturing country anymore. Thanks for the reply.

@rynow, a cold beer and pizza sound so good right now. Enjoy

It always sounds good to me!!

Cheers!

Cheers, thanks for the reply

The time I posted this I was holding a glass of fruit juice actually. Was celebrating rainy day at home :)
BTW the steemit notifications are working again :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64182.74
ETH 2768.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66