An ode to home brewing

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

Christmas 2016 was a special time for me, it was the first one I got to share with my beautiful girlfriend and even better, we got to do so in the house that we live in together. We exchanged gifts a couple of nights early as we were traveling interstate and didn't want to have to lug them along with us. To my complete and utter surprise, one of the gifts she gave me was a tin of Coopers malt extract. At first glance to many a fairly unassuming item, like with any good gift it's the thought that counts and it just so happened this one now has more cherished meaning to me than any other gift I have ever received.

A long time fan of beer throughout the years, I've always been partial to a slightly 'craftier' tipple from small local breweries in interesting places the world over. Having seen a friend get started out home brewing and perhaps looked on wistfully, this simple 1.7kg tin of sweet and viscous liquid was less an impulse purchase to top up the gift stocking and more a beautiful way of inspiring creativity and granting permission. Permission for what, you might ask? Permission to brew.

After just a few basic extract beers with assorted experiments like a dry-hopped bright ale and a rather fruity apricot pale ale, I was bitten by the bug and thrown into a world of podcasts, books and internet forums all dedicated to the brewer's art. Now doing all-grain brewing, which is what professional breweries do (but on a smaller scale in the garage), I hope to one day scale up my operation and turn this passionate backyard hobby of mine into an opportunity to work for myself and maybe even have a chance at owning my own home.

I love to share my beer with friends and family, and mostly produce classic styles with an occasional local twist. My stout is very popular with everyone who's tried it and there is a Czech style pilsener on the way which I hope will warm up everyone's winter nights. It really is rewarding when someone tastes something that you've made and not only enjoys it, but asks for more!

So all this aside, I couldn't help but notice that there hasn't been much on the topic of home brewing among my new friends here on Steemit and for that reason I ask:

Who here is a home brewer and what do you brew? It doesn't matter whether it's beer, cider, wine, mead or kombucha, I'd love to hear about it and how it makes you feel!

Cheers!

IMAG0472s.jpg

Sort:  

I was brewing beer back in the late 80's using a kit and a tin of Coopers larger and adding bitters to it.
The few slabs of beer I ended up brewing were a hit with my friends too.
I'd like to take it up again.
An old mate of mine (Gash Slugg) has been brewing for years, all from scratch. He does a great job putting out videos too. You may have seen some of them?
I'm trying to get him here on Steemit too.
For now though, if you like brewing videos, his YouTube channel is: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL424CDCFD0827879C
Steem on!

Thanks Hammaraxx, I've subscribed and will give them a watch this weekend!

I'm not a brewer myself, although I have always wanted to try it. I hope to read more from you about your experiences in the future.

Great to hear, Gregory. It really doesn't take a lot to get brewing so certainly keep an eye out for my future posts and feel free to ask any questions :)

Congratulations @robbo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63824.30
ETH 3420.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54