UPDATE The story behind Thirstday the video

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

Brodino and me.

Beer test evening in Winschoten, Oldambt.

Still not blootered, yet...

And I was alright when I went back home on my bicycle. Because the reason the drinking stayed well within limits is the halfing and the safety stop. Meaning, on such a weekday evening we split the content of each bottle we try in half. This time that was two and a half bottle each effectively. Within a three hour time span. And though there was a lot to choose from we kept a lot of bottles capped for another time. Bit boring maybe, but not blootered this time. Not on a weekday and I cannot remember the last time being blootered. Then again, who could remember that anyway?

This tradition on thursday (it was warm so therefore it was a thirstday) evening started because of a sad situation. Back then no alcohol was used. As time passes by and wounds become scars it slowly became our Bro's meet up evening. Sharing a beer now and then, but still within limits, we both had our early call the next morning. At some point special brews were introduced: "Hey, look what I came across!" Some do wine tasting, we like beer tasting. But we do not spit it out, because, well it is beer. To keep things in balance we started to split the content of every bottle. Not all times, but often enough, just like last evening.

Needed some kind of a break too.

Last few months have been quite a strain. Life sometimes goes that way from one challenge into another, with no real break inbetween to catch some air. Posting became more like a constant one topic grind also. Started to do more in my own native tongue Nederish (Nederlands) though, that was a nice change, have to admit. So, lots of bright spots too. It is more the feeling of being lived, than living for most of the time, that kind of got to me lately. Situations that seem to decide what path has to be taken. Still, part of life too, yet I do not do well if that goes on for a long time. So, yesterday with one of me Bros, there was a break. Had a good time, thanks Bro!

The alarm went of just like most of the days. Not even a sloth day, just an ordinary friday. Coffee, breakfast and so on. Forgot my backpack at my Bro's house, he texted me this morning. No, not because I was any where near being blootered. We do skip some thursdays too. Sometimes it takes another month. But it has become a tradition. While my younger brother is now somewhere in France, climbing a mountain with some cycling friends, before the Tour the France comes by, I update this text. And I will move on from here, taking control at the helm of my life again, because I am really done being lived by circumstances. Engage!

Have a great one!



video by BroDino

Sort:  

If you guys get sick, than personally I would put the blame on (the) Bush

We did not get to the Bush. Golden Dragon was the last one. ;-)

#NL Je had dorst vandaag zie ik =]

#NL Het was dorstig weer. ;-) En nog genoeg over hoor.

They have such an epic design. Great video. I really enjoyed it :))

Yes indeed, that is one part of the attraction factor, when it is pleasing the eye. :-)

And thanks it was fun to make!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.37
ETH 2327.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52