German Beer and A Wood Stump?!?

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

20170602_230521(2).jpg

Steemit World! I have an announcement to make, last night while out in Milwaukee at the Old German Beer Hall I discovered the most pointless amazing game to drink beer to.

HAMMER-SCHLAGEN!!!

The gist of the game is this:

  1. Each person has a nail that they tap into the stump to start the game
  2. Each person then takes a single swing at their nail trying to knock it flush into the stump
  3. If you knock you're nail in you're done, if you don't, you pass the hammer along
  4. The last person to knock their nail into the stump loses

Yep...that is the entire game, at least as far as I was told by the drunk wizard in the back of the bar. I don't really think there are any winners, just one loser ;) The best part really is how great it feels to swing a big hammer at nails in a stump, while drinking delicious German beer. Really, I can't think of anything better to do on a Friday night, even the Mrs got in on the action (with the baby beer glass)!

20170602_230134(2).jpg

The fullsize beers were just a little bit bigger ;)

20170602_230122(2).jpg
My brothers and one of their girlfriends

Apparently there are actual rules that I was able to find on the Hammer-Schlagen website. Our rules were a little more simple, didn't have to think too much, just hit the nail and enjoy the beer.

Have any of you ever played this game, comment below?


Don't forget to Upvote, Follow and Resteem! Steem on everyone!

Sort:  

Big hammer+nails+alcohol. With how litigious people are these days, it seems like a lawsuit waiting to happen. Sounds like a great time, though!

Hahahah, there was a chain attached to the hammer so you couldn't go running off with it, but you're right, I doubt there would be many places willing to have this in their bar.

Very nice post and pics! It sounds like a tremendously fun game. I would certainly have fun with it. Good beer and swinging hammers, what's not to like!?!? Germans sure know how to have fun! I agree with @shenanigator though, it is a lawsuit waiting to happen.

I think the one rule I really do like from the website "No body parts or foreign objects on table" definitely solid advice hah!

haha, for sure! I really want to play this game now. Do you know when @papa-pepper is supposed to post the 2nd post on the game?

He actually posted it late last night, there are three options this time, I'm thinking we go with #1 or #3 let me know what you think though.

I'm leaning towards #1. If we jump we risk severe or death. If we stand our ground, we either fight or make allies. What are you leaning towards?

I say option #1, let's roll the dice. Maybe we end up strengthening our group somehow.

Ok cool! Do you want to respond for our team?

Just submitted. Let's see what happens...

I think this game can work if there is enough beer to go around! 🍻. On the one photo there is a huge bell with kiss the goat written on it. What is the story on that? Did you see any goats?

The beer definitely makes this game, without it I'm pretty sure we'd all realize this is just laboring...unfortunately i did not see any goats. Perhaps there was a person nicknamed goat? I'll have to go back and do some more "research".

Enjoy the "research"

Great to see you have fun with German traditions! HB - Hofbräu nice one!

Love the German traditions! It's in my blood, can't escape it.

Useless but fun activity - good it gave a reason for this post!

Im pretty sure without the beer, this is just manual labor ;)

Real Gooooood, thanks for reading!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 04. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.50 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 04 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57207.57
ETH 2995.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26