Beer Review - Tripel, Une Annee

in #beer7 years ago

received_10211577210163037.jpeg

Beer Review - Tripel, Une Annee

Hey everyone! I have decided that in addition to the weekly Friday Craft Brew Series, I want to start sharing individual beer reviews throughout the week. Yes, you're right, this may just be an excuse for me to drink more beer throughout the week! The good thing is you all will get more beer to read about each week now!

So without further ado...

Tripel by Une Annee

You may remember the name of this brewery from last weeks Friday Craft Brew Series where I reviewed their America Wild Ale, La Seul X. That was one of the best beers I have had recently so I was really excited to try a beer style from them that is a little more mainstream. I decided upon Tripel an Abbey Ale coming in at 8.7%.

The name is real deceiving here as I was expecting a Tripel Ale, and that it is not. I guess I need to read labels a little better.

The beer upon pouring has no head at all, even when I tried to force some. It was a very dark amber color, almost brown, and totally opaque. Again, since I was expecting a Tripel this appearance was very unexpected.

There was almost no smell to the beer at all, at least nothing really decipherable, which was really strange. The most I got was a tiny yeast smell, but it disappeared almost immediately. The lack of aroma made me a little nervous.

The first taste tells me this is 100% an Ale, very close to an Amber Ale, and nothing like a Tripel. The beer has a toasty flavor mixed with malts. The more I drink it the more I get strange underlying flavors. There is a slight sweetness that you would get from a Tripel that disappears just as fast as you can recognize it. Perhaps that is where the name comes from. Every sip I take seems to result in a more toasted flavor. It's building into a brown ale flavor almost.

The flavor that lasts is almost like a roasted nut. It lingers in your mouth but only for a medium amount of time. It's not really the best flavor to have stick around, especially for someone that isn't the biggest fan of roasted flavors.

This is a strange beer. Not at all what I was expecting, and I am not sure I really enjoyed it. It's almost like the beer is confused on what style it wants to be. Is it an Amber Ale, a Brown Ale, a Tripel? I don't really know even after finishing two glasses.

Overall this isn't a beer I would recommend. It has it's good points, but overall I just don't think the flavors come together as well as I would like. Like always though, it's a beer, so if someone handed it to me I would happily drink it; I'm just not going out and buying it myself.


Thanks for reading everyone! Stay tuned for more individual beer reviews to come, I'll try and get one more up in the coming days before the weekly Friday Craft Brew Series. If you have any questions on the beer listed here feel free to drop a comment!


Don't forget to Upvote, Resteem, and Follow! STEEM ON EVERYONE!!!

Sort:  

Awesome man!

I can taste the words! Sometimes we just get duds, but that is we are brave and venture out to areas others do not!

Great review, and I fully support your mission to find the BEST beer!

I'm always out here looking for the next one to try! Appreciate the read brother! One of these days I am going to have to take your food and drink recipes and have myself a real good night!

Looks like you already did the with the Bloody Mary! @mk40 hahaha!

That's a fact brother!

very helpful review indeed. Guess that you are a beer lover.

We just had a beer festival and I shared some pics on my blog, feel free to see them..Love beers.

Thanks for your post

Yeah, I am a big beer lover. I have a craft brew series that I put out every Friday reviewing a few different craft brews I had throughout the week, you should check it out each week if you can.

I am all for any beer festival! Will head over there now to check it out!

I agree . I think the best thing is to follow you in order to stay in touch and send in my support. Am following you now, lets stay in touch. Pls see my latest post on my 1K milestone

Loved the beer festival. I need to make my way over to Germany as soon as I can! My new Friday Craft Brew Series was just posted as well, fyi!

Haha, good one

Huh, a fluke it seems. The label is very classy! I hate it when there is no head. I suspect it has gone off immediately!

Yeah, the head and color made me wonder about the beer immediately. Something just didn't seem right. Especially disappointing since the Wild Ale I had from the same brewery was one of the best beers I have had recently.

woo... cooolllllllll bro... good :)

The colour of that is quite something! Shame its not so amazing

It was such a strange beer. The color is like nothing I had seen before, the beer too, but in the most unfortunate way.

Bloody disappointing beers They shouldnt be allowed!

That is a pretty strong beer at 8.7% I don't think I would enjoy the beer either. What do you recommend for a nice summer day out on the porch type beer?

For a nice summer day I really enjoy a Belgian beer, has more of a wheat/yeast flavor to it which is lighter tasting than an IPA or other ale, but they can still have a high alcohol content and great taste

We haven't had a nice sunny day here this week. I need the stuck inside rainy day ale today. I agree that a lighter tasting beer is the better option on a nice sunny day. We have a place by my house called The Craft Beer Bar, and they have some great options.

Oh yeah, with the rain we are having by me all this week I have been sticking with my strong IPAs. I'm lucky there are about 20 different craft beer stores around me, and something like 50 different craft breweries within 50 miles of me...I'm spoiled when it comes to craft beer.

We have some good ones too. My wife doesn't drink beer so it's hard to hit them as much as I like because most only serve beer.

"Yes, you're right, this may just be an excuse for me to drink more beer throughout the week!"

Love that attitude :-)

I'll take it on as my duty, to share more beer with Steemit!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mk40 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 25.00 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @mk40. Vote for Aggroed!

I find your reviews oddly compelling and captivating. I read every word of it. However before you wrote the sentence I am not sure I really enjoyed it. It's almost like the beer is confused on what style it wants to be. I thought to myself I really don't think I'm gonna like this beer. And then you said it and I was like Yep even he doesn't like it.

Hahahah! Yeah, it's hard for me to say I don't like a beer, because all beer to me is special lol...but there are definitely those that I am ok only having once. This is one of them!

So, if you don't like the beer, do you have to drink another one to counteract the previous one being not so pleasant taste?

Oh of course. It's a necessity lol. I always have a couple beers that I know I love in the house so it's never an issue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59849.00
ETH 2961.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82