Beer Tasting - Abbey Tripel ('Affligem Tripel' by Brouwerij Affligem / De Smedt)

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

When life gives you lemons, go for a beer. Rain didn’t stop me. Another visit to Beertija - a very dear Pub of mine!


They boast with the impressive rock&roll theme park. Sculptures of famous musicians are scattered around the place.

I already wrote about it. But here, only a few pictures to show it again to the new people!

I haven’t been here for a while and I noticed they offer nothing on tap! Such a mistake! There are awesome craft beer available which are not bottled.

The fact that everything is bottled drives the price up a bit, but on the bright side, there is good choice of foreign stuff.

I smiled at this sign - an obvious scam - just like some of the ICOs. Be careful about those. I hold some PARTICL tokens. Don’t know what that is? Lucky you!

While you descend into the club it feels a bit like a dungeon at first but the vibe is chatty and relaxed after you come inside and take a look around.


Photo-shoot


Affligem Tripel by Brouwerij Affligem / De Smedt (Heineken)

StyleAbbey Tripel
CountryOpwijk, Belgium
Alcohol9% (bottle) or 9.5% (RateBeer) - a mystery
--------------
AppearanceGood head retention! Durable! Fizzy! Carbonation dance all over the place! Clear light golden.
AromaHeavy malts and alcohol notes. Floral sweetness.
TasteDrops like a bomb. Sweeeet! Couldn’t suppress a smile! Low bitter finish. Honeyish Caramel as well. Very, very impressive taste. However after sipping for a few minutes I noticed metallic and a bit acidic aftertaste. Shivering. It dampened initial exhilaration.
PalateMedium to heavy body. Oily swish. Tingling sensation after swallowing. Must be the alcohol talking! Still, decently hides such high alcohol notes.
--------------
OverallNoble stuff suited for royalty. It was a while since I had a Belgian! About darn time. Complex and sweet experience. This was a bargain and I find it to be an excellent opener for the evening if you want to get a bit tipsy, even hammered! That metallic tinge is the only thing that worried me :/ Could it be a bad batch? Rate beer always has Belgians at a very prestigious score, do you find it warranted?
Score (subjective, personal)14/20

Price: 20 kuna (3.10$) for 0.33l. Bottle at a pub. Medium-range

This review was improved by RateBeer!

Please drink with style and responsibility!


Camera: Canon SX170 IS

Beer devotees: @kingscrown @meesterboom @beers @uwelang @steemswede @rynow @razvanelulmarin - you encourage me to write every day!You can find a lot more beer posts in my blog as well as other posts on various topics. Thank you for all your sharing, caring and upvoting!

Buy BTC with Coinbase. You and I both get 10$ for free if you use this link and buy 100$ worth of BTC.


How to make letters so small? Ask me in the chat room! Let’s hang out!

@ssekulji has been proposed for guild vote of the day! Vote for him in the link below!


https://steemit.com/steemvoter/@steemvoter/steemvoter-guild-nominate-a-friend-for-the-guild-vote-friday-june-30#@buzzbeergeek/re-steemvoter-steemvoter-guild-nominate-a-friend-for-the-guild-vote-friday-june-30-20170630t152421255z


What is the last Belgian you had? Recommend something!

Sort:  

Good post, Thanks for all this info
Download Udemy Courses for FREE!:
https://steemit.com/udemy/@hamzaoui/free-more-than-500-courses-from-udemy-in-2-tb-free

Damn, hope I'll find the time....

This comment has received a 0.09 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

Wonderful post, it's hard to go wrong with beer. If you're ok with something a bit fruity, Brasserie Cantillon Fou' Foune is a good beer to go for. It has a sour yet funky taste that is quite balanced.

I love suggestions! Hopefully I try it!

A metallic tinge eh? Apart from that sounds great! Might have been a slightly off batch. Imagine if it was and it didn't have that, it would be amazing!

True indeed! Hope all is well and that vacation was a blast! ;)

The last belgian, that I had was a Piraat triple hop. I liked it, although the weather is so hot now, and I don't like so malty and strong full bodied beers! The dry hopping on the other hand blended well with the strong maltiness. I will definitely give it a try again, when it becomes colder!

Now that is a nice beer indeed. Hope I'll find it somewhere ;)

Wonderful post dear, next time let me take with you.

Well, you never know ;)

That's a good looking pub! Ditto for the beer mate.
Little thing you're going to like! Have a look at untappd site/app. It's a match made in heaven for you and it's got details on pretty much everything I ever had!

I'v been pretty active on it. Then I found steemit :D Thanks for the suggestion ;)

These Sculptures looking really interesting. Imagine how long time it takes to make it?? Beer also lookin great ,dope review. Keep it awesome.

It was probably pretty hard to make, yes! Thanks for the support!

Completely agree with you on Beertija tap policy. It's not just that some of the best Croatian crafts are not bottled (I'm talking Nova runda) but also same beer tastes much better and is often much fresher on tap. If you haven't already try Hop Inn (near the main bus terminal) their tap policy is excellent (cheaper resident + several fresh beers in rotation) even though their waiters leave a lot to be desired (supposedly they improved).

Even made some reviews there ;) I want to taste C4 asap ;)

Wow this looks so damn amazing! Pozdrav iz Slovenije!

Thanks! I'm actually going there tomorrow. To Bled. Pictures the very same day, I hope!

Great one - i just posted after a long time some Munich Beer again - upvoted

Thank you! Will check out ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70245.15
ETH 3761.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99