The Lord of the Beer #22 Rochefort 8steemCreated with Sketch.

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians !

I already did a post about this brewery but it was about the Rochefort 10 now we're speaking about another one which is the 8. For those who don't remember here is the link to my review : https://steemit.com/life/@jarendesta/the-lord-of-the-beer-2-rochefort-10
Moreover, I never try out this beer, I always took the 10 so it's a totally new beer for me ! I'm also looking forward to try the last Rochefort which is the Rochefort 6, I never try it either.


Description

 
This is a brown beer with 9.2%. Don't trust the number for the Rochefort because the 6 stand for 7.5%, and the 10 for 11.3% so be careful when you drink those, you could be drunk before noticing it. Those numbers came from an old measuring unit.
A good thing to know is that it's more than a special beer, it's also one of the 12 Trappist beer. It's a label delivered by an association but you must follow 3 rules in order to get it, the two first rules are that the beer must be brewed by the monk in their abbey or next to it. The third rule is that one part of the profit has to be for the monastery and the life of the monk, the other part will be for charity. You can imagine that it's quite hard to get this label and the 12 beers that have it are very special and they all have their special taste. This is the logo of the Trappist label :

Tasting

 
Time to taste ! Since I know quite well the Rochefort 10, I can't resist comparing both. The smell reminds me of the 10 but the taste is pretty different. It's less heavy but still, it's a 9.2% beer. It's less intense and fluffy but softer. There is also a strange after taste that I can hardly describe and the sparklingness is normal I'd say.

Rating

 
I rate this beer 13/20, I can't say it's a bad beer but it's not my type or maybe I'm just too used to the 10. It's a great beer but what I like in the Rochefort is its strength and I didn't find that in this one. Still, I think it's interesting to try it just to know what difference there is.
 


 
That's it for today, I hope you like this review and be sure to upvote and follow me for more, there will be one review per day !
Don't hesitate to recommend me a beer which you'd want that I review !
Check out another Lord of the beer : https://steemit.com/beer/@jarendesta/the-lord-of-the-beer-21-gulden-draak
 
See you one day in Belgium !
 
photo_2017-07-12_18-24-37.jpg

Sort:  

Interesting info about the Trappist label. It's nice to find gems out there that are carefully crafted. Beer making is surely it's own art.

good work @jaren i hope u have the world outcalss and best collection

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67621.06
ETH 3787.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50