Vanilla Porter: An Amateurish Beer ReviewsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #beer5 years ago

Vanilla Porter - Refresh 12oz BTL.png

I bought a single 12 oz. bottle of this Colorado brew from a local shop some time ago, and set it aside. I think it's time to crack it open and give it a taste so I can share my opinion. You can find the brewer's product page and my source for the accompanying image here.

I can't offer much commentary on the scent, because I have some sinus drainage going on. It isn't over-hopped like many of the coastal breweries tend to do, though, and there seems to be a hint of vanilla. The taste is quite sweet, but not cloying. There isn't a much bitterness at all. The vanilla is subtle at first, but lingers and grows. It's not watery, thank goodness. I also can't comment on the color of the beer or the head of foam, because I drank from the bottle directly. that's part of why these reviews are labeled as "amateurish," after all.

Final opinion: Not bad, but not really to my liking. The malt could have used more of a dark-roasty profile, I think. Your mileage may vary, and I certainly wouldn't want to dissuade anyone from trying this. I don't regret giving it a try, and I may sample other vanilla porters and stouts if I find any so I have a better basis for comparison, but I guess I just prefer my porters and stouts as unpretentious beer with no gimmicks or extra ingredients.

Sort:  

I'm always thankful when it's not watery!

Sinus drainage?

Colloidal silver.

😄😇😉

@creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60336.09
ETH 2333.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53