New Belgium Citradelic: An Amateurish Beer Review

in #beer7 years ago

Citradelic

This is another attempt at a refreshing summer ale with a bit of hoppy bite. I am not as impressed with this as I was with Deschutes Hop Slice, but your mileage may vary.

New Belgium Brewing Company is a Colorado brewery best known for its Fat Tire Amber Ale, which is a decent beer. That, however, is not the subject of this post.

Citradelic has a sour and bitter flavor profile. It seems crisp, but not with enough sweetness in the malt to balance out the flavors. The sour taste reminds me a bit of a lambic-style beer, although not as pronounced. The hops do seem to be chosen to enhance the citrus taste, and don't seem to clash with the other flavors. I am neutral on the idea of extra ingredients like the citrus peel used to flavor this beer, and while I know purists hate anything other than water, hops, malt, and yeast, I think there's room for some experimentation. There is a bit of malt sweetness that lingers. I haven't made up my mind on this case, but I don't care enough to drink more.

Stats: 6% ABV, 50 IBU, "tangerine infused orange peel."

I wouldn't say to avoid it if you like American IPA with a citrus twist, but I don't plan to buy more for myself. If a music analogy works to describe my impressions, think of it as being like an overproduced commercial recording instead of a raw live set by a good band. It has some good elements, but they're without any real character.


image credit and brewery website


SteemVerify

If you like this post, please comment, follow, and resteem!

Sort:  

giphy (4).gif

:P

Not saying its bad, I just remembered that I saw this weird thing once... Acid rush lolz

Thats not a picture of a tangerine, right? - maybe im too high!

Your last analogy is spot on... it's a good beer, but with the citrus cranked up way too high, possibly to appeal to a more casual beer audience. The kind of people who don't like IPAs so much.

I prefer a stronger beer flavor with more of a hint of the fruit, personally.

Thanks for sharing your post and picture, I like this post. @naz722

buen post, saludos

i want to get high by drinking all this, lamao

It may be a Colorado brewery, but I don't think they have a weed-infused line yet!

love this post . thanks for share . waiting for your next post

Plz upvote resteem and follow me @devrajlove

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53699.14
ETH 2213.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28