Tipples Beer Review #59 La Sirene Citray Sour (Aust)

in #beer6 years ago

Citray Sour.jpg

I sometimes get asked “what is the best brewery in Australia?” Normally I try to tap dance around it like a parent does when asked to name their favourite kid, something like “well it depends on the situation, or I couldn’t narrow it down to just one.”

But we all know we like Doug more that that little shit Sam, and when push comes to shove if I have to name my favourite Australian brewery then it’s La Sirene, which is a brewery that make sophisticated yeast driven farmhouse ales. This allows you to not only be a snob to normal beer drinking folk but also to craft beer drinking folk by saying – oh you like IPAs? Of course you do, me, I’m chasing barnyard yeasty esters, you wouldn’t understand, stick with craft beer for a few more years and your graduate beyond hops.

So now that I’ve offended, parents, most brewers in the world and almost all beer drinkers it’s probably time to get on with the review;

La Sirene Citray Sour

Let’s start with the can – La Sirene do things differently to everyone else, no cartoon or a 12 year old boy pun name for them, nope the artwork is all Avant Garde, Art Deco style, and it’s brilliant, right of the bat it tells you to expect, a sophisticated brew unlike anything else.

This is sour ale made with wild yeast and real oranges. Hence the orange can, it’s meant to be a crowd pleaser, as the can says it’s a farmhouse ale for the people.

The photo makes it look light orange but it a touch darker than that, but with a big white head.

The smell is a bready cracker smell, it unusual without being too yeasty or too pungent funk, dare I say it’s sophisticated?

To say this is tart is like saying a grapefruit sprinkled with citric acid would be tart, in fact an extra bitter grapefruit is probably a really good description for this.

The first few sips are arresting and you think there is no way you could finish a can of this, but then after a few sips you start getting use to it and it simply becomes refreshing not is a completly inclusive doesn’t offend anyone Cider type of way, but more in a acquired taste - Aperol or Campari type of way.

Which is to say, this would go fantastically with a teak topped speedboat in the French Rivera or something like that.

Sort:  

Hahaha Love the review on this! And when I make my way down there, this will be the brewery I'll be hunting down first! I agree that the yeast used can really make the beer, but I'm also a huge hop head. Really big on Brett IPAs and the likes. But farmhouse ales are right up there as well. Can't wait to get my hands on some. No offence taken here ;)
Judging by the name, I thought this may have been a well hopped sour with citra. Never judge a book by the cover... or name for that matter.

If you're interested: https://steemit.com/contest/@webstar/beer-contest
Perfect candidate.

I must admit I assumed there would be some citra in there as well, if there is I couldn't detect it and they are not mentioning it. I kinda like hops too, really In like most beer, it actually does depend on my mood, it's probably just that La Sirene are always interesting and never seem to make a bad beer.

Can't argue with that. I really just like beer in general and mood has everything to do with what i want at the time.
I plan on being in your neck of the woods come the new year for a month or so, so it's great seeing what you guys have to offer down there.

I love the idea of a sour beer. I must try this. I had never heard of them before this review.

This one looks rockin’ solid and I will definitely like to have a can of... I love sours and it’s a pity, that they are not so well known and warmly received here in Bulgaria... generally. Of course, there are some sour lovers, but they are not much.
Cheers!

I love sours. I would recommend getting your hands on some Jolly pumpkin beers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66053.97
ETH 3448.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67