Tipples Beer Review #52 – A Sydney Paddle

in #beer6 years ago


Taphouse.jpg

I was in Sydney for work last week, as was my lovely partner, so what else would we do but add a few days in the harbour city and whilst there have more than a few beers? On Thursday night, our work done for the week it was off to The Taphouse in Darlinghurst for a brew.

Being Thursday they had some sort of special which involved a Padde of five beers for $10, which by Australian standards is cheap cheap cheap. We could choose any five beers from the twenty strong tap list, so this became even cheaper when I managed to include a single beer that was going to be $17 for a 285ml version.

So let’s paddle it up...

Beer one was Shenanigans India session Grisette which is closest to camera in the picture above. It was a light straw yellow colour, hazy. It smelt like a Belgian wit. It didn’t have great carbonation and not enough funk for me, lacks depth.

Next up is Mornington hibiscus Grisette On drinking this one I’ve realised don't like grisettes this would be refreshing in a summer afternoon in field sort of way, but for the end of work week in a inner city pub, this isn’t doing it for me.

But then it gets better. Next up, and right in the middle in the pic is Wildflower Brewery Lager Now I don’t usually go for lagers, but Wildflower are one of the best brewers in Australia, they make sour, blended, oaked beers normally so I was very keen to see what they do with a Lager, The answer, they aged it in French oak barrels. It has an unusual smell, a little sweet and it drinks very gentle, the carbonation is soft and it has a amazing body, really very good lager, close to the best lager I’ve ever had, and one of only a few which I would rave about.

Next up was another Wildflower beer, this time their Amber which I have had before and is amazing, but with barrels and blending, every batch is different, I was very excited a) because this is a $17 beer, and secondly I didn’t think they kegged any beer, just giant champagne bottles of it. This beer is like someone has wrapped a plum in some socks.....but good. It's sour its complex and brilliant, not for everyone, but if you are the type of person who likes sour beers, and blue cheese then this is for you.

And last but not least is the another beer from Shenanigans it’s their Flight Path Dunkel, infused with Coffee. The smell is all coffee, the taste is less bitter than I thought. More like a latte than a long black. I sometimes struggle with Coffee beers but this one is pretty darn good.

As always this is my entry into the awesome competition run by @detlev check out all the details here: https://steemit.com/beersaturday/@detlev/enjoy-steemit-beersaturday-challenge-in-week-38-win-from-15-sbd-in-prizes if you want to help me win vote on my comment on the main post, or if you liked this beery adventure upvote and/or comment below.

Sort:  

Glad you got to the Taphouse while in Sydney. What a great spot. Excellent review mate.

Thanks, Darlinghurst was a good spot for beer, we popped into the Bitter Phew, which was also very impressive.

This post reminds me of @mazzle 's posts. ;) He's in Melbourne I think though. Where do you live normally?

Normally in Melbourne, which I'll argue is the centre of craft beer in Australia (this could start some fights)

A paddle of 5 beers $10!! Frantically checks flight prices from Dublin to Sydney That's unreal value... That middle one most have been a right belter "lose to the best lager I’ve ever had" Happy days..

That’s one hell of a flight. Cheers mate!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71353.04
ETH 3819.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51