Tipples Beer Review 21 & Beersaturday entry week 20 - Henry Street Brewing (Kensington - Australia)

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

After Westside Ale Works last week reminded me how much I like drinking small and local, I went smaller and more local.

Henry Street Brewery is confusingly not in Henry Street, rather the name comes for the owners homebrewing days, and things haven't got much bigger the brewery sits next to the bar and literally sits on a bench at the side of the bar.

20171029_123005_resized_1.jpg
The first paddle

It is located in a small factory in the back streets of Kensington, making it a ten minute walk from home and thus I think my closest brewery.

So unless I review my Homebrew, I don't think I'm getting more local or smaller.

As you can see from the photos they do tasting paddles, so we worked our way through the full line-up of 9 beers on tap and I can tell you there wasn't any disasters in there, most we reasonably run of the mill, but here are the standouts.

20171029_125922_resized_1.jpg
Black IPA at front, Blue billy at front

Hefeweizen - not a good looking beer, cloudy which is be expected for a hef, but slightly brownish colour, but the taste is great, a good hint of sweet bananas, soft mouthfeel almost non existent carbonation, very gentle and very good

Blue Billy amber ale, named after their alarmingly small brew system - it can't be doing more than 100 litres a batch, so they really must spend all weekend brewing. great burnt toffee colour and there is toffee on the nose as well, again soft carbonation, sweet and luxurious beer - impressive

Galactic Chief IPA - smells fantastic, tastes very smooth, great balance with sweet marmalade tastes at the start of the sip and a gentle bitterness at the end, low carbonation again which works for this. Very nice.

La Divisi Dark IPA - and it is dark, not black, with a creamy thin head, the taste is again very balanced, not a hop bomb by any measure, rather its the roastiness that is the feature.

So drink on, drink local, drink small.

Where can I get the beers? Nowhere, you have to go to the brewery its open Thursday and Friday nights and some weekends, they do growlers for takeaway.

20171029_124010_resized_1.jpg
my lovely partner in crime Jordan providing branding opportunities

Also this is my entry for #Beersaturday week 21 - which is run by @detlev, read about it here: https://steemit.com/beersaturday/@detlev/steemfest-beersaturday-challenge-it-is-the-21st-beersaturday-with-20-sbd-in-prizes and as always vote here, or at my comment on that main post if you liked this journey into Nano brewing.

Sort:  

I love the paddle approach to serving drinks - smaller portions but more variety. I love a good IPA and have never seen a dark one ... I guess the hint being pale ale! Sounds very interesting indeed.

I think the IPA and I would get on as I do love banana bread beer.

looks great - I love to go tasting from time to time!!

The La Divisi Dark IPA seems like it would have been the one I liked

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67527.39
ETH 3259.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64