Beer Review [4] - An Eclipse Special - The 8.21 Lunar Lager by Mazama Brewing - A Rare Beer Worthy of A Celestial Event

in #beer6 years ago (edited)

I've been saving it -- a beer brewed just for the Total Solar Eclipse! And like that celestial event, this beer is special. But there's no reason to keep this beer in the bottle, to age like a fine wine. Nope, this beer is meant to drink. So, during the week of the Super Blue Blood Moon Lunar Eclipse, I figured it's time to open it up.

x eclipse beer 4.jpg


x eclipse beer 1.jpg
My sister took that great photo of the total solar eclipse, on our canoe trip. I took the rest of the photos. Lower left: the Eye of Sauron is my cellphone photo of the solar eclipse, lol. Upper right: the recent Super Blue Blood Moon, almost at full lunar eclipse. Lower right: Thursday's regular old moon. We've got a nice moon! And I'm getting better at shooting the moon!


A Special Beer for a Special Occasion

This was a special brew, made in celebration of Mazama Brewing being along the Line of Totality - where the sun's rays would be blocked by the moon for over 2 minutes! During the eclipse, the brewery hosted a viewing and drinking party. For $25, folks got a commemorative bottle of this special lager, another drink of their choice, brunch, and a pair of eclipse viewing glasses. Hey, they offer Yoga and a pint every other Sunday, too!

x eclipse beer 2.jpg
It's the 8.21 Lunar Lager from Mazama Brewing in Corvallis, Oregon. It's a 6.6% ABV India Pale Lager.

I didn't go to Mazama's eclipse viewing party, even though I was nearby. Corvallis was going to be so crowded with people from all over the world, wanting to see the eclipse totality. Instead, I was camping on an island in the Willamette River, right on the line of maximum totality. Here are my posts about my eclipse canoe trip: part 1, part 2. Because I had such a great time experiencing the total solar eclipse, I needed to buy this bottle of 8.21 Lunar Lager.

Mazama Brewing is a small family-owned craft brewery. They partnered with the Beer Stein, a tiny store with a huge inventory, in Eugene, Oregon, to sell the bottled beer. When I was writing this post, the Beer Stein listed 958 listed in their online inventory - 958!

x eclipse beer 3.jpg
The beer is a lager, made with Pilsner malt and Mecca Grande Estate malt, Citra and Amarillo hops, and then dry-hopped with Idaho 7. It looks so special with the gold label. So I brought out my special Steemit Silver Round that I got from @papa-pepper.


How Does It Taste?

giphy-downsized-large (17).gif

So, so good! It's a crisp, clean lager. With a hint of citrus. Smooth! This is a beer that's meant to be enjoyed! I would buy this beer, even if it wasn't in a commemorative bottle! But just like the eclipse, this beer has come and gone!

x eclipse beer 5.jpg
*This beer was so, so good with my wild weed salad. There are 16 different springtime weeds in that salad. I picked them from my yard. *


What Do You Think?

  • Have you ever had a specially brewed commemorative beer?
  • Have you ever had a beer from Mazama Brewing?
  • Did you see the solar eclipse or the lunar eclipse?
  • Do you like to eat wild salads?
  • Would you eat my salad? Or share my beer?

My other beer reviews: Session Premium Lager // Pray for Snow Winter Ale // Ninkasi Helles Lager


Haphazard Homestead

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

Good beer with beautiful salad for the great occasion! Um! Wonderful celebration!

Your sister's and your photos of the total solar eclipse are very amazing! I like your photos of the Super Blue Blood moon and the old moon photos, too! Great shot! ;)

Thanks, @tangmo! I liked your photos of the Super Blue Blood Moon, too - and learning the traditions around the lunar eclipse. There is always something happening up in the sky! :D

You're welcome! Oh! I'm very happy to hear that you like my photos of the Super Blue Blood Moon and that you found the tradition interesting..... Yeah! Like you said, there is always something happening up in the sky! ;D

What a treat for such a special event! It seems like you know the right beer for the right time. I respect that.

There are so many different beers out there these days. That's such a step up from the days when everything was celebrated with 3.2% Coors, lol. Because that's pretty much all that was out there, where I'm originally from in rural western Kansas, lol.

A) you're lucky to see the Super Blue Moon as we didn't here in smoggy Bangkok. B) what a way to celebrate it with a special commemorative beer.
Sam loves his IPA and often tries out a different craft beer when he can (depending on price as it can get quite expensive here). Haven't tried any special brews yet, but we would definitely try/share yours :)

I was lucky indeed! We usually have fog and rain all the time, during this part of the year. It is amazing how expensive some craft beers are! I'm not ready for those $20 bottles, yet, lol. Here's to you finding some good, tasty, and inexpensive beers in your area! :D

Cheers thanks! 🍻 To drinking tasty and great quality beers for life! ;)

Great post, I would love to taste that special beer 🙂 I am also looking forward to the recipe of the wild salad so that I can try it out for myself. Thanks!!

Thanks, @liltammy. That beer was good! Here's the recipe for my big wild salad. It's not so much a recipe, though. I just wander around and pick plants that I know are good to eat. There are some good tips for making wild salads in there, though.

I'm not that convinced yoga and beer go together, which comes first?

haha -- they do the yoga first and then the beer. I'm not sure how well they would go together, either. But somebody must like it!

Wonder what your moon shooting setup is? Might make a good post. I know some people use a telescope. I have an old telescope but not a really good one. I have thought about buying the adapter for my big camera to connect to it.

It would help if I used a tripod, for sure! At this stage, I just go out and snap shots, then make a few aggravated remarks when the camera does all kinds of autocorrect. So then I just turn the knobs and try different settings. So very sophisticated, lol. And I wish I could remember what the settings were for the nice moon shot. I go through this same pattern regularly, lol. I'm not proud of that. ; )

What an idea to celebrate awful celestial events @haphazard-hstead. I think you totally were in merry making of Super Blue Blood Moon amazing the world with its wonderful changes it underwent and on Earth you were doing your part:)
Cheers!

We have to find our reasons to celebrate! At least with nature, it is always giving us something worth celebrating. I will celebrate when I harvest my first watermelon from my garden, too! But that will be in August, lol. I hope you can celebrate many things around you, too! :D

Can't wait to see all your weeds and I'm so envious that you have green growing unfrozen things!

Yeah, you all are having quite the winter this year! Everything is brown and dry in our summers, but winter is so, so green. Unless it snows, then it's green and white. It's so different than the Midwest and what I grew up with. But it's pretty and easy to eat well! The weeds are coming on strong, lol! ; )

You grew up in the Midwest? Then you know! We got dumped on last night. I'm so ready for spring!

I grew up in Kansas and everyone there called that the Midwest. Then I lived in Michigan, and everyone there called that the Midwest, lol. The first year I was in Michigan, there was snow up to the level of the front porch into April. I thought it was great! But when you are ready for spring, you want spring to get there soon! At least all that cold and snow keeps the bugs in check for the garden! ; )

I love this idea :) We also have some special beers on certain occasions in my homeland Czech Republic (the home country of Budweiser and Pilsen, btw ;) On the Green Thursday prior to the Easter, for example, pubs serve green beer :)

Those beers look pretty special, alright! I've never had a green beer. I'm going to watch for more special-event brews. It seems like a chance to taste something unique. And I like that the brewers keep trying new things, and not just relying on their best sellers. Cheers! :D

Great pictures of solar eclipse! I didn't see it due to clouds. Yeah, I would love to eat wild salad ;)

There's another eclipse April 8, 2024 in North America. So maybe you can see that one. It would be nice if everyone could eat a wild salad -- they are so delicious. A good match for this tasty beer! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64911.06
ETH 3194.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60