You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Liquid Simplicity; Brewing a SMaSH (Single Malt/Single Hop) with Home Grown Hops and Figs

in #beer7 years ago

Let me know if you have any questions. I'd be happy to help. Since the hops are just one ingredient, I still have to buy the malt, steeping grains, and yeast. Here's a company that sells organic malts: http://www.brewingwithbriess.com/Products/Organics.htm

Sort:  

So how does malt beer taste in comparison to a Heineken? I liked the taste of Heineken light in a keg (not the bottle). It's not too strong but tasty in a frozen mug.

And your SMaSH beer, what's the taste like?

All beer is made from malt, hops and grains. There are many types of all three, and mixing them up is what basically creates all the different beers out there, along with some variations on fermenting. Heineken is a pale lager, but brewed to be a very balanced hop to malt flavor, and using a very light malt and a small amount of hops. A maltier beer tastes, well, more malty :). British beers stand out as malty, so something like Bass perhaps. My smash is also a light malt, but heavier on the hops, so it has a hoppy bitter flavor. The hops I grow are fairly standard in taste, but some varieties taste piney, citrusy, dirty, etc. If you wanted to try to brew I would just get something like an American pale ale kit. Lagers are really hard to brew as you need temperature control equipment. Hope that helps.

Wow, thanks so much. So I'm going to have to practice on an easier recipe then work my way up to the pale lager type recipe.

That's very helpful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61255.54
ETH 2640.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46