Cosweiss - Beer exchange recipe-ish

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

This is the recipe of the beer @buzzbeergeek is having the honour of reviewing, heh, bit of a big head here?
This is at pretty much the 1st level of homebrewing, maybe level 1.5 because I changed the standard recipe.

We started with a wilko's wheat beer kit .

The first step is pretty much following the kit instructions and similar to the first step of my last brew

Main data about the beer

It was started on the 27th of January 2017. The batch size was 23 L and the original gravity 1040.
I've used 500 g wheat spray malt and 500 g brewing sugar as the additional food source for the yeast. I also added 14 g of Citra and Chinook hops straight at the start of fermentation, I know that's frowned upon, but oh well.

About ten days later, on the 7th of Feb(grav was 1010) I've added 42 g Citra + Chinook hops and on the 9th of Feb (Grav - 1006-7 ) 56 g of Rakau hops.
I kept everything in the same fermenting vessel for the whole period, no secondary or racking involved. I basically relied on giving the yeast a long time to clean and drag down as much stuff as it can on its own.

It was then bottled on the 22nd of Feb , primed with enough sugar for to get it to 2.8-3 volumes of CO2.
The attenuation was around 83% resulting in an alcohol content of about 4.3%.

I usually find my beer disappears long before they hit a few months of maturation time, but a few bottles survived from this batch. So... how does it look and taste 4 months later ?

20170623_165608.jpg

I'll leave the reviewing to @buzzbeergeek but I will just say it tastes like a rather hoppy wheatbeer with a long citrusy aftertaste, and in my biased opinion it's delicious.

That's about it. Thanks buzzbeergeek for the review and thank you all for following this along!

Cheers

Cos

Sort:  

It looks great to me man. BTW, I have talked to the missus and she is on board with starting to home brew!!! Great news for us all, as I am sure I will be documenting the process on here. I'll probably hit you up for any tips when I get going if you don't mind. On a different note, just got my most recent Friday Craft Brew Series up, a real real good Pale Ale in this one!

Thanks!
Awesome! Get on it, it seems there's a bunch of home brewers around here. Yes please ask anything, I'll help out if I can. And if not we've also got @mdosev and @bovineblitz;they made/are making some really interesting beers as well.

Consume looks like a nice place and a good selection of beers as well! Nice.

I'll have to go follow those guys. Yeah, Consume is a sweet place. One of the best parts is the owners are almost always behind the bar serving people and talking about beers. It is a beer lovers dream place.

@mk40 and @costopher , I love to homebrew. I'm thinking about making another batch of Belgium IPA sometime soon. My problem is maintaining a cool enough temperature for the yeast to work properly. It gets hot where I live. Any tips on controlling fermentation temperature, let me know!

Hey. I'm using my under the stairs cupboard for brewing so it's not temperature controlled in any way at the moment; but it doesn't go over 24C regardless of how hot it is outside.
I guess if you could find an old freezer you could use that to stabilise the temps, doesn't need to be functional.

@costopher , that's great that you have that space for fermenting. I have thought of an old freezer or refrigerator that I can temp control somehow. It is on my to do list!

Awesome! Let us know how it goes.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Costopher from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Looks and sounds wonderful @costopher. I am not particularly into very hoppy beers but wishin i could try some myself! Looks delicious! Will follow for more. Gonna look into brewing my own soon, any suggestions?

Finishing off my blue moon to this comment, cheers!

I still can't believe that this happened! It sounds like you make a very nice product! Cheers from @steemp-trail!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64475.77
ETH 2770.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66