Beer Tasting - Sweet Stout ('The Garden Stout' by The Garden Brewery)

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

Finding a perfect stout has been my mission for quite some time now.


The closest I got to it was tasting Tytfak Hazelnut Sweet Stout by Falkon Brewery in Prague early this year. Many more adventures ahead! Exciting!

Browsing for beer is never a chore for me. I take my time. This time I decided on another Croatian craft brewery.


Slightly newer than most, Garden Brewery is one of the better ones. They hugely invested in their facility which I plan to review separately. Sneak peak at google images reveals the impressive retro bottling (canning?) facility:


They love cans!

I dislike cans! Why?

1 Cans are more expensive in Croatia (usually). How, I do not understand. You can refill a bottle but not a can, or can you?
2 I am a lousy drinker from a can. It sticks to my beard and I taste metal. The hole is too small.
3 Hygiene. I always imagine rats scurrying over these cans in storage. I don’t want to lick it afterwards.


The three basic variety of their craft are India Pale Ale, Pale Ale and Stout. They do not complicate names - the same as their respective styles. Respect for that!


The Garden Stout by The Garden Brewery

StyleSweet Stout
CountryCroatia
Alcohol5.2%
--------------
AppearanceI like how they branded, very hip and simple yet eye catching. Saying: 'I'm the new kid on the block!' Black color, Bit deep red-brown shine on the edges. Head is nothing to brag about.
AromaTrue to its name there is chocolate and coffee in the aroma. Bit smoky as well.
TasteAlmost salty taste. Some would say umami perhaps. Like burnt nuts. Interesting and unexpected from a stout which has lactose listed under ingredients. It also includes real oats and wheat.
PalateA bit oily texture, lively carbonation. Abrupt finish leaving a slight bitterness.
--------------
OverallI would recommend this to sharpen your senses and try something good but different. Personally, stout is my favourite style but usually I look for more milky, gentler stuff. This is rougher than it advertises on the can. Would go well with a piece of fruit cake as an opposite!
Score (subjective, personal)14/20

Price: 14.5 kuna (2.15$) for 0.33 l can. Upper mid-range in a market

This review was improved by RateBeer

Please drink with style and responsibility!


Camera: Canon SX170 IS

free badgesYou can find a lot more beer posts in my blog as well as other posts on various topics. Thank you for all your sharing, caring and upvoting!

Free badges - courtesy of @elyaque


Free BTC, free LTC, free DOGE and free STEEM by @klye - sites that promote crypto! If you know simpler or better, do say! Referral links are welcome, too! Buy BTC with Coinbase. You and I both get 10$ for free if you use this link and buy 100$ worth of BTC.


How to make letters so small? Ask me or @kevinwong . Let’s hang out in chatroom!

In Ireland though, you should visit the Hairy Lemon Pub as @eroche says! Go check it out while hot!


Are you a can or bottle person?

Sort:  

i love cans too, im upset theres so little crafts in cans

Yeah! There is a certain charm in cans. What upsets me the most is that they tend to pack it into 0.33 lately :) Instead of a 0.5 l

I am for sure a bottle person, cans are not only expensive - they change the taste to a nightmare

Agreed! :) Thank you for taking sides!

Pleasure my friend!

Please send me one to Argentina! I want to try one my friend! It hurts that I live so far. I loved your post, very well done! Big hug!

That is a praise, indeed! Much obliged! Stop by Europe when you have time, just across the big pond :)

Congratulations @buzzbeergeek! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Thanks! And your chrome extension seems very interesting! Every single of these people who voted are praiseworthy for trusting and believing in me. I hope to see them and you, again! I'll try to make my post earn on curation rewards so no one gets disappointed!

im a can person.Espcially the extra long Cans.
Wish i could taste that sweet stout anyways, trying to imagine the taste and feeling

We can make two teams! I have a huge can to review. In a few days ;)

im in mate!....

Definitely a bottle person. The guys at garden also host some awesome live music, really dope hip hop parties. Nice piece mate

Yeah, I was planning on expanding this topic. Are you Croatian?

Nope, I'm Australian, but I live in Zagreb. You're from here?

Yup, we should grab a beer one day. You just started here or you have another acc?

I always imagine rats scurrying over these cans in storage. I don’t want to lick it afterwards.

Ha ha I am a bottle person too. Very interesting post.

I prefer bottle but after reading your review I want to try this.
It is also perfect for hangover mornings! instead of ordering coffee with beer just order this one and done! ;)

There is a saying in Croatian 'klin se klinom izbija' or in English 'you fight fire with fire' :)

The Stout beers are becoming more consumed in my country Argentinas, the factories of artisan beers are becoming more incapable in this variety, with very good acceptance, on Thursday I raise another Argentine beer material.
Thank you very much dear friend @buzzbeergeek for all this information, have a beautiful week

Thanks. Let's chat again soon ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53622.13
ETH 2208.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29