Beer Tasting - American Pale Ale ('Pan Panonska APA' by Carlsberg Croatia)

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

What happens when macro breweries start to experiment with new styles? A welcome attempt, but can they compete? Let’s take a look!


Pan beer in the ownership of Carlsberg. They are well known and hold a decent portion of the market in Croatia. To be honest I’d rather have their Pale Lager than many other available.

A while ago I have heard rumors ( @rumchronicles info) they started experimenting with different popular styles.

I finally found their three new offspring.

They made American Pale Ale, Dunkel and German Hefeweizen. I went for Pale Ale just because it is so hip!

The tasting took place at the Crossover Festival I reviewed yesterday. Take a look here!

A friend accompanied me and he is impressed by Steemit. Who knows, maybe he joins. Not a beer fan himself, he ordered some wine.

Is beer and wine the only thing they offer? You can also get some popular cocktails at the scattered stalls. Probably catering to wandering tourists since the location is so central. Rarely do I see Croatians ordering cocktails. But that just might be my beer addled perception.

Photo-shoot

They tried to indicate alcohol, bitterness and sweetness levels on the label. But it’s just…. Wrong. Very wrong!

Pan Panonska APA by Carlsberg Croatia

StyleAmerican Pale Ale
CountryKoprivnica, Croatia
Alcohol5.5%
--------------
AppearanceDeep amber / light copper. Almost clear. Thick head which doesn’t dissolve completely. Interesting label. They wanted to appeal to the old and the young, in my opinion.
AromaNoticeable hops. Heavy caramel, Malty.
TasteMedium sweet. Again, caramel. Not layered at all. Disappointing.
PalateMedium body. Low to medium carbonation. Slick and oily feel. Eh, passing grade. Bitter aftertaste, kind of artificial.
--------------
OverallA macro offspring. What can you expect? Definetely not worth it for the price I had it.Why in the world is this in a small bottle? Obviously just for show and to give it an appearance of quality. Suspected customer ripoff due to ale revival in the recent years. Macros finally want their share of the market.
Score (subjective, personal)11/20

Price: 24 kuna (3.80$) for 0.33 bottle. A travesty! Splurge at an outdoor stall. I didn’t appreciate plastic glass for that price.

This review was improved by RateBeer!

Please drink with style and responsibility!


Camera: Cell phone - Moto G4 Plus 16MP

Beer devotees: @kingscrown @meesterboom @beers @uwelang @steemswede @rynow @mk40 - you encourage me to write every day!You can find a lot more beer posts in my blog as well as other posts on various topics. Thank you for all your sharing, caring and upvoting!

Buy BTC with Coinbase. You and I both get 10$ for free if you use this link and buy 100$ worth of BTC.


Here are two FREE airdrops for you
100 WCX tokens airdrop here (worth over $10) https://wcex.co/?ref=U0jLWVT0
CS tokens airdrop here, amount decreasing over time https://wcex.co/?ref=U0jLWVT0

If you use the referrals, we both benefit!


@bontonstory wrote about some ideas on how to make some quick and easy bites. Vegetarian too! Check it out here!

Have you been disappointed with a beer recently?

Sort:  

I don't like design and color of labels. And price it's way too high for Croatia. You right about plastic. I rather drink from the bottle on festivals or events. It's cleaner.

Me too. I just used the plastic here to show the color and head better.

Thanks for the visit, always nice to see you!

Check this out and go back to your little cave.
http://sherbrookeliquor.com/products/beer-menu/
I was joking. Here in Alberta Canada is different beer planet. We have Liquor stores. You can't buy alcohol elsewhere. But choice is amazing even in smaller ones. You enter special room with beers where temperature is around zero Celsius so you need to be fast, otherwise, you can get cold. Usually they have around ten Canadian most common varietes for about $2cad for 0.34. Than you can find a shelf with imported popular ones from all over the world. Maybe 20 to 30 sorts. And of course, there is a special section with domestic crafted beers from micro breweries. Not to mention whole bunch of radlers.
HEAVEN man in one word.
Start saving for the ticket! Around 1000 Euros in dead season from Zagreb.
btw, I prefer birra morreti or peroni. They are similar to union and laško (my home beer, shhh).
I like Croatians more but only when I'm on vacation in Dalmatia.

They draw their menu from untappd app. Very professional! And beer heaven indeed. That's a big market you know. Our money can't compete. I think our micro breweries are doing rather well lately considering how much Croatians can pay on average.

Let's wait till steem is 10$ and then the ticket won't be a problem! :) You stick to pale lagers, eh? I rather experiment, especially with Steemit involved :) So, are you Italian or Slovenian?

Laško has nice specials. I have a couple in my fridge and I'm planning to put them on review soon. I'll even drop you a message when I do it ;)

No beach time this year?

Steem to $10- Dalmatia here I'm coming! You right about money but I'll tell you one thing I'd learn in my life. Go out once on twice a month and afford 10euro beer and enjoy it. But we rather go out, drink 10 of the cheapest ones, drain them down the toilet and get a headache next day and bitching how expensive is beer. Not to mention the fight with our ladies. Na zdravje, my friend.

nice one...good to share this...
love beer...but let us remember to drink responsibly and avoid much beer while driving

I'm about to have a morning beer lol

I love morning beers when I'm on a vacation! Especially during summer! Cheers mate!

You got on my steemit radar, will be visiting often, just cause of the beer 😂😀

Thanks! There won't be a lack of those! :D

I didn't know 'Carlsberg Croatia' was a thing! ;) <I live next to the old Carlsberg factory here in Copenhagen, Denmark, where it all started!> I do like the labels though even though it's not a common opinion as I see!

They bought the brewery from the Croatian producer ;)

Aha! No idea! :)

Upvoted and RESTEEMED :)

you have to test this one :)

you will come tunisia only for it :)

I love to drink Heineken beer!

Now I have to go to store and get some beers!? Ha, nice blog. Looks delicious!