Beer Review Time - Coconut Chocolate Porter

in #beer6 years ago (edited)

Back to the beer reviews after a couple of different type of beer posts. I found a lovely looking Toasted Coconut Chocolate Porter to try, part of Caldera's Kettle Series limited releases. Lets get right to it.

Caldera Brewing Company - Toasted Coconut Chocolate Porter

IMG-3718.JPG

Stats

  • Brewery: Caldera Brewing Company - Ashland, Oregon.
  • Alcohol Content: 6.2% by volume
  • IBUs: 24
  • Company Description: Caldera's Toasted Coconut Chocolate Porter is a Robust Porter incorporating in house toasted coconut chips and natural liquid chocolate. Super smooth and flavorful, this dark porter is a dessert in a glass. One of Caldera’s top selling beers and comes in at 6.2% Alcohol by Volume.

IMG-3719.JPG

Presentation
I sampled this beer from a 22 oz dark brown bottle with a single main body label. Had the classic Caldera Kettle logo and a tropical themed background with shiny silver border and a large coconut in the back. The beer bottle had a paper collar when I received it touting a 97 rating from RateBeer. Not sure who RateBeer is but it was highly regarded by that site. I have seen Caldera beers in 12 and 22 oz bottles and 12 oz cans, so not sure what the difference is between cans and bottles, I know the 22 ozers are more limited series releases.

IMG-3720.JPG

The Beer

  • Appearance: Pours a dark brown with a nice tan head of foam that lasted a bit (with a relatively agressive pour).
  • Aroma: I detected the coconut and chocolate aromas wafting from the beer.
  • Taste: Oh my, this was smooth and slightly sweet with a nice chocolate taste and hints of coconut. The coconut was not as prominent as one would expect but I think that added to the sweetness. A lighter beer than one would expect.
  • Mouthfeel: Smooth and slippery, slide off the tongue and down the hatch. Sweet finish.
  • Drinkability: I think this is a drinkable beer controled by the sweetness and the serving size. At 22 oz, one of these is plenty for me in a night. The sweetness is awesome but could grow tiresome with a large amount consumed.

IMG-3721.JPG

Rating and Final Thoughts


I rated this a lofty 4.5 on Untappd, the initial tastes were pure luxury, I think it best when drank in moderation though. Two friends had an average rating of 4.13 and Untappd in general (9200) gave it a 3.97 so a well liked beer. As stated above, i really liked it, a porter, a chocolate porter, a toasted coconut chocolate porter, you keep making it sound better, yummm. Right up my sweet spot. Winner! Plus BeerRate liked it with a massive 97 rating (I assume out of 100 not 1000)

4.5/5

Thanks for the read, I appreciate any comments made. I will have to see how my beer consumption is over the next few days to see if it makes it into #beersaturday Week 40 contest. Cheers all!

Sort:  

Coconut in a beer. A nice idea. I wouldn’t mind trying to brew an IPA with some coconut at some stage. Might make for an interesting beer.

Ive had a number of coconut beers, most are in the porter range though or brown ales or the darker ones for whatever reason. Not sure I have seen a coconut IPA. The fight between the bitter and the sweet would be interesting for sure!

This beer looks amazing and also sounds great from your review, nice post.

it was really good, I love a really good porter, the coconut was a nice addition.

Once again I gotta say that porters are not usually my first choice, but this made me want to try. Good job. Thanks.

Give it a shot! I’ll have you converted before you know it. Did you see my Red Velvet review? Also get ready for me to nominate you for the 7 day beer challenge

This sounds like one I would like haha

It was really good

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 01:38:21
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 33.55/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This sounds like a great flavor combination. I already love porters so this would be right up my alley.

It was really good, I enjoyed every drop!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66911.69
ETH 3521.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19