We got in some way compromised - More that 1000 BEER where stolen

in #beer5 years ago

Hey Steeminas, dear BEER lovers

Our little project got some attention in the market. Most of the time this is a good sign, but today something strange happend.

THIEF AT BEER OFFICE.png

The world is full of assholes!
two very speicial ones are
@command and @vegetables
and the thief behind @Camper


They stole 1131 BEER

This morning I checked the @beerlover and everything was smooth.

A workday grabbed my attention and I did my stuff.

Just late afternoon I went to the steem website to see the actual status of "Whats going on"


I looked twice as I saw that more than 1000 BEER got delivered.

I said to myself:

Seems to be a dry day and everybody is thirsty.

but something let me have a look a bit deeper into the system.

Quickly the feeling "There is something wrong" came to me and I started to look even more into the details.


Who did what today

After grabbing the data from the system I saw what happen. Even in the raw data there was one name again and again.

Who is this?? @command with a reputation of MINUS 1

List of Beer User .png


Anyway, I have to do something to stop this

My first idea was to stop this @sshole from selling the token and I went to Discord and did a question to steem engine master aggroed.

See the Discord chat here https://discordapp.com/channels/539442545478991882/539442545478991884

Communication on the Steem Engine Discord

Discord message 1.png

Than even more strange things happened

Discord message 2.png

and finally

Discord message 3.png

Where you see what happened.


We stopped the BEER delivery

Sorry my beerlovin friends, we had to stop the delivery for a short while.

We add some more security feature to prevent something like this in the future. There will be a bunch of changes and we will be online quickly


Steeling from a fair-drop

What a bad kind of human are you? We have our fun with such a nice function and such an Id%t is stealing our BEER.

I never ever though, that assholes like @camper and @command are around to fool the community. **This is a bad behavior like showing us all his middle finger.

You might be smart, but as I said in Discord

May bad karma hit you heavily
and be sure - once a time -
it will be my feet
kicking your butt HEAVILY

This is the message for @command, @vegetables and the thief behind all this: @Camper


Calling all clever and fair steemians

If you are in programming and platform stuff, please check if you see some potential problems and just let us know

I like to have steem and the beer community a better place - a place where we help each other and where we not fool each other. So if you are such a smart and clever guy or girl, I love to chat with you.


Stay tuned for more information

The team behind this - mainly fun and community orientated - token is working on some tools and will be ready soon.






Anyway,
if you like fun and beer and blockchain,
have a look to the BEER token



Buy some BEER

sure, this is easy. Have a look to https://steem-engine.com/?p=market&t=BEER


Enjoy the BEER token


CHEERS
UPVOTE
FOLLOW
ENGAGE


Your thirsty @BeerLover



Sort:  

A ten-second perusal of crypto headlines will tell you that if anything valuable is easy to steal, efforts will be made to do so. It is the responsibility of token issuers to make sure that their software is rigorous against potential attack.

karma... will reward the 'attacker' richly for helping tiny projects like yours learn about proper system design while there is very little value on the line. Can you imagine if something like this happened on something that actually matters? like bitcoin main network?

If you don't learn these lessons now, you will never be able to build something that scales to significant value.

Hi @josephsavage, sure security is an issue.
But this is a fun project and even more something for the community.

We have more than 700 happy people who enjoy this project.
Sure, than somebody plays the card "Look how I can fool this little project"

Anyway, this doesn't kill the project, it brings even the community more together as I had many nice talks today and yesterday. And yes, we learned.

I just send a BEER to you to enjoy the fun wit us.

I'm glad that it didn't kill your energy. Just fix it and move forward... and know a little more for next time.

700 who have actually interacted with the token (issued or bought/sold) or 700 that have had the token given to them?

some quick stats

More than 100 Steemians are able to give tokens and more than 3000 tokens where delivered to more than 700 people.

Mode with the rule of thumb

Posted using Partiko iOS

Holly sh!t

That's beer for a full town party!

Posted using Partiko Android

It is. And yes - Holly shit!

But we learned

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ahhahhahh, very nice comment 👌🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

How the fuck he did that? FK that guy!

It's actually quite easy if there's no protection. I was thinking about doing it myself. I wouldn't steel 1000 beers but I was just curious if it's possible. Whether there's any limitation. @beerlover He didn't just use a group of bots that tip each other all the time, did he?
If so, we can have a religious discussion about how much beer per day is good for a person. :D

But I must say that I don't agree on calling it stealing. Legally it's not, of course and technically it was really an invitation for someone to find out where the limit is. And if you want to know where the limit is, you need to go there. You would run a script until it fails and then you know. I think this is what happened and that's ok and healthy. It's "only" 1000 beer and not all. You can ask him to redistribute them.

Yes, this might be a religious discussion and I have to agree to your way of thinking. It is only 1000 BEER but it is 1000 BEER.

I was really pissed as I saw this and being a programmer in the past - I understand that you do whatever you can do.

It is just not fair

and as I said, even if you can do something, there is fairness and karma.

So, I hope that life will pay back.

Now back to normal life.....

LOL, a religious discussion about beer: that's really funny to me. 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Might be a never ending discussion....

Back to normal life...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Might be a never ending discussion...

That's for sure: an eternal discussion! ^_^

Well I could easily drink 2 6packs so thats 12 glasses of beer a day. 🤣😂.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is you.

If I have two six packs a day, I was either way to long at the gym or totally drunken.

Posted using Partiko iOS

🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @beerlover! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3500 comments. Your next target is to reach 4000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Well, that's bad. But it's an experience for all of us...lesson learned...

I completely agree! ;)

Painfully agreeing!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Everything passes, my dear!
Have a wonderful day!
Cheers!

!shop

Posted using Partiko iOS

It is not nice when someone drunk your beer and glass is empty :(((((

I really don't understand where people like this comes from and how they think. It is actually all over Steemit, where people just abuse the system and messes it up for other people.

I hope you find a solution soon!!

We are working on this and we will find that guy!

You could have stopped with a custom strategy to distribute token. It's so easy to abuse.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, we stopped the distribution and adding features and some limits

OMG !
That too Bad Attitude !

Feel much sorry to BEER @beerlover !
Take Good Care and Come Back Soon !

!shop 💙

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57