Beekeeper

in #beekeeping7 years ago (edited)

Hello. I am a treatment free beekeeper and avid gardener. I run a nonprofit that does three things

  1. Provide new beekeepers with equipment, bees, and education to get them into keeping bees with no cost
  2. Funding and creating pollinator gardens
  3. Purchasing land and converting it to pollinator habitat.

When I am not keeping bees I manage a 500 tree (and growing) orchard and organic farm. We grow apples, peaches, nectarines, apricots, plums, pluots, pears, cherries, blueberries, rasberries, black berries, garlic, and a ton of vegetables. This year I am starting to produce 6 different types of mushrooms in addition to the wild mushrooms I forage.

I'm also a hunter and conservationist. I've been a bow hunter for a while but got hooked on waterfowl about 7 years ago. Since then I haven't really killed much besides ducks and geese. I live to fish when it isn't hunting season.

I first got into crypto in late 2009/early 2010. I've got a flash drive with a few thousand BTC on it, but I've moved 6 times and haven't managed to find it. Every time I find a thumb drive in a drawer I plug it in thinking I'll be rich... Seeing as I have less than $100 invested in them I try not to lose much sleep over it. I'm really not interested in crypto, but am hoping this is a great alternative time sink for my online time.

Other hobbies I have are stamp collecting, mead and wine making, wood carving, and rebuilding carburetors.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jefeperro! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @jefeperro! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello jefeperro!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63656.97
ETH 2473.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66