I have a new bed

in #bed5 years ago

This morning when I woke up I tried to push up the matress in my sofa from habit there was no need for it. The matress was firmly in place because it wasn't a sofa. It was a different bed.

Then I remembered that yesterday @laputis and I went to IKEA and bought a new bed for me.

The old sofa wasn't comfortable for quite a while but it still worked. The last straw came when @laputis' mom had to sleep in it for several nights when we where out on a recital trip to the French Alps. She declared I need a new bed, haha!

A week ago yesterday we went to look around in one store and actually bought a bed which the store had to deliver us in 3 or 4 working days. It was an unusually long period for delivery in the same city but we waited. At the end of the 4th day I contacted the delivery guy and it turns out he wouldn't be able to deliver it to us that day or even this weekend. He said we better contact the store.

@laputis and I were rather furious and went to the store, tried to convince the staff to help deliver my bed the same day and when they couldn't do it we decided we won't wait any longer and asked for our money back. On principle. Because the guys in the store clearly were taking advantage of us.

So yesterday we went to IKEA and bought a new bed and a matress which goes with it. They were packed in separate pieces so they fitted nicely in my car.

We spent just bit over an hour assembling it yesterday which was easy because they had instructions without any text, just pictograms, like comics. And as you know, comics is one of the best ways to tell a story even as boring as assembling a bed.

The new bed is narrower than the old one and my room is less crowded because of that.

The old sofa went to @laputis' parents garden home where it will be used mainly for sitting or afternoon napping in the first floor when the second floor is too hot in the summer.

Yesterday I also took the old matress which I was sleeping on to @laputis' parents.

I carried it on my head... It was about 20 minute walk. This was a great exercise or so my shoulders thought, haha!

@laputis was my spotter because I couldn't see a thing but I had to admit it was cooler under its shade with the matress above my head...

I won't start imagining what our neighbors thought of this. Could be a nice theme for Pinky and Spiky Drawing Contest.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

And the new bed looks great from the appearance. I hope you also enjoy it and I hope it brings some comfortability also

The delivery times in Finland are ridiculous more often than not. I know people who have waited 4 months for a couch :D

They should come sleep in the store in this case, haha!

Posted using Partiko Android

Your new bed looks great and of course when the mattress is new you will sleep much more comfortable!

I had a slightly similar experience where I had bought something online but found it significantly cheaper elsewhere. The original retailer has a price match guarantee of 10%. I phoned them and after checking online, they deemed it wasn’t the same product! Refusing to accept this answer, I wrote to their head office (as it was a chain) and they refunded me the difference plus 10% and free delivery. 😄

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes... Consumer is GOD to them!

It's amazing how simple things turn out to be so much trouble, isn't it? Enjoy your new bed :)

I like it already...

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

You have receive an upvote. Thanks for playing moonSTEEM

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64176.22
ETH 2624.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78