Natural Beauty Using Natural Ingredients - #2 Homemade Nourishing Hair Rinse (to replace shampoo)

in #beauty8 years ago



Quitting shampoo and commercial hair products 2 years ago was the best decision I ever made for my hair.  At the time I didn't really know what I should use in place of hair products, I just knew that in order to have good health inside & out I simply had to stop putting all these harmful chemicals onto my body.  


As I explained in my homemade moisturiser post yesterday:

"When buying and applying beauty products, many people tend to forget that our skin is permeable and absorbs whatever we put on it...  The chemicals contained in these popular brands we're so fond of are extremely toxic, are absorbed right into our bloodstreams, and can result in serious health conditions that most people would never dream  could be linked to a topical product.  But the truth is not only can chemicals affect the surface of our skin, they can also affect our hormones, immune systems, nervous systems, reproductive systems, liver, brain, heart... everything!!!"


I used to LOVE trying out new products, and probably spent a lot of money on them every year.  The products I used were shampoo, conditioner, leave-in conditioner, straightening spray, wax, serum, and my most favourite product ever - Lee Stafford Dehumidifier Spray.  I have naturally wavy hair but didn't like it, so I used to spend literally a whole hour every single morning straightening it as well. I was known for having 'perfect' hair, but man it was such a burden having to spend all that time on it!  If ever I stayed overnight with a friend they would watch me do my hair and think I was crazy!  This is what it used to look like after all that effort:



This is what my hair looks like now:



To tell you the truth I get a lot more compliments on my hair now than I ever did before, and often get asked what products I use... When I reply "none" they are shocked!  My hair is strong and healthy, and it's that way because I don't use products, not because I do.  


Just to note - my point in including photos of my hair isn't because I'm vain and want you all to gush about it... It's to show you that quitting shampoo and other products doesn't mean you'll have to endure a greasy mop!  It's a common misconception that when you stop using shampoo you suddenly have greasy and scraggly hair.  Our hair is able to condition itself with natural oils secreted from follicles, yet when we use shampoo these oils are stripped away and not only dries our hair out, but harms our scalps as well. 


Many people opt for the 'no poo' method, and simply use water to wash their hair.  Doing this will give you slightly oiler hair to begin with, but after about 5-6 weeks the oils balance themselves out, leaving you with hair that looks clean and conditioned.  Other people, like me, use homemade hair rinses with natural ingredients specifically tailored to our particular hair types, and depending on what we are trying to achieve.  I tend to get psoriasis from time to time, and so choose medicinal ingredients that soothe and nourish, and that won't irritate my scalp.  I am also now starting to get visible grey hairs (31 years old and it was a very traumatic pregnancy/birth of my baby boy!) so choose ingredients that naturally lighten hair as I don't intend to dye it (at least not with toxic chemicals anyway).  As you can see it's shiny but not greasy, healthy-looking, and has natural highlights due to the hair rinse and sunlight.  Oh, and the reason it's wavy like that is I had been wearing it in a plait!

 


This hair rinse will be suitable for all hair types, so you can try it out and then adjust the ingredients or quantities if you want to.  It's worth spending a bit of time researching, as there are so many possible ingredients to use, which will enhance your natural colour as well as taking care of your scalp.


What you will need:


2 tblsp dried chamomile flowers 

2 tblsp dried calendula petals 

1 tsp dried sage 

1 tsp dried rosemary 

1 tsp dried thyme  

2 tblsp apple cider vinegar 

2 tblsp witch hazel 

1 tblsp aloe vera 


Method:


Measure out the chamomile, calendula, thyme, rosemary and sage, and put them all together into a jar



Pour over boiling water and allow to 'brew' with the lid on for at least half an hour



Using cheese-cloth (or stockings) drain the liquid into a spray bottle and discard the herbs



Add the apple cider vinegar, witch hazel and aloe vera, pop the top on and shake to mix.  Spray on liberally when in the shower, massage in gently, and leave on for at least 5 minutes before rinsing off.  I wash my hair this way once a week and find that suits me perfectly, leaving my hair feeling soft, detangled and healthy :-)  I don't use any additional hair products.  I'm very happy knowing I'm not poisoning my body with toxic chemicals!



If you enjoyed this post please follow me for more tips on making natural beauty products, as well as healthy recipes for homemade snacks and meals. 


Many thanks. 


For extra tips on health, weight loss & information about natural foods you can also support me as Natural Health Mama at: https://www.facebook.com/naturalhealthmamma and https://naturalhealthmamablog.wordpress.com/


Logo kindly created for me by @papa-pepper

Sort:  

That was a very good post and gorgeous photos @woman-onthe-wing!
I agree with you, because all products that are natural are good for us.
In this modern time a lot of people tend to go for a promotion or for a cheap product ( this happens a lot in my country Romania) and they end up destroying their bodies.
I really liked your post and I followed!

Thanks very much, I appreciate what you said there :-) We are suckers for horrible chemicals disguised as beauty products, but they don't make us more beautiful at all! Natural ingredients are the only sane things to use!

"mama-pepper" will be reading this one in a minute.

Thanks!

:-) Thanks very much, I appreciate that :-) But with all those wonderful veggies you bring home from the market, I bet she has lovely hair!

She does, but giving up on shampoo is always a good idea.

Personally, I hardly touch the stuff.

I love your recipe and will definitely be making this for sure. I make my own soaps and laundry soap, so this will fit right in. Thanks for sharing the recipe with us.

Thanks very much! I'd love to see your homemade concoctions too if you feel like doing posts on them... I have just clicked to follow you anyway!

I think I may actually try this! We're getting low on shampoo and I'm hitting the grocery store on Saturday. Of course my husband will think I'm crazy but that's nothing new. LOL

Surely it's a crazier thing to be using poisonous chemicals disguised as 'personal care' products :-) If you do try this I hope you find it as effective as I do, and please let me know what you think!

great stuff - thank you for this post - I am very keen to try it :)

I'm happy to hear that! Thank you

Thank you @woman-onthe-wing have been trying to give up the chemical concoctions for about a year+, I've tried using Aloe Vera Gel and water, that was nice, but our plants were very small.
I will give this a go next time I need to make some shampoo up.
Have tried a few recipes for homemade washing powder, Jif and Toothpaste, the washing powder took a long time to play with different recipes and add different things to get it right, the others work well with out changing them up.

Ooh I'd love to know your recipes if you're able to share or do a post? I'm sure others would love to see that too ... I've been meaning to start making homemade toothpaste as I currently buy fluoride-free Aloe Dent which costs nearly 6 euro, which is very expensive just to avoid fluoride! I also would love to use natural washing powder. I tried natural soap nuts but they're not so good at removing stains. I hope you find this hair rinse works well for you. I've just started massaging wheatgrass powder into my hair as well as spraying with the hair rinse, I get psoriasis sometimes and I think it's helping :-)

I've just did a post yesterday, for the homemade washing powder.
Toothpaste can get really expensive, the one i make noone else in our household really likes it, so that's another one I'll need to play with.
I've started using Coconut Oil after shampooing, but still need to make up the hair rinse to give it a whirl.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63964.61
ETH 3433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55