You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DOUBLE STANDARDS - AND HOW THEY MAKE IT HARD FOR NERDS, DWEEBS, & GEEKS

in #beauty7 years ago

Interestingly enough, the ones who society deems fit to be called "good looking" are often bullied as well. The abuse stems from others feeling inferior. It's nothing new for someone to see another who just so happens to be "blessed" with good looks and assume they are any number of negative things like conceited or shallow.

Both of my daughters take after their mom. Very beautiful. They've both been bullied because of how they look. They had nothing to do with their appearance. This goes both ways. It's not just the nerds who have it rough.

Sort:  

Excellent point and thanks for sharing! You are very correct, and too often everyone is just mean to everyone!

Here's how I look at it @papa-pepper. Some people are mean to some people. I'll try my best to teach my kids how to handle those situations. The rest of the world is up to everyone else. I don't ever see a world where everyone gets along by default... and I don't think I'm being cynical. Anyway, you have a good day.

Absolutely, people will always tend to be selfish and even cruel by default, so it's our responsibility to train our children to not treat others that way, and not to repay evil for evil either.

My main point was just that we tend to be superficial and treat people differently based upon how they look, even when they are doing the same thing as someone else.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46