How I Cured My 10 year Acne Problem

in #beauty8 years ago (edited)

When I was just 12 years old, puberty hit me like a bus. No time for "training" bras, just in with a deep voice and out grew the broad shoulders. Every pre-teen girl develops like this, right?

Of course, the white and black heads appeared on my face. "You're bodies changing, it'll sort itself out." They said. But why me? All the other girls had such radiant, pore less skin, while I looked like Regan from the Exorcist without any foundation on.

"Tetracycline, take one a day with a meal, it may cause browning of the teeth so be careful." Cheers Doc, I sure know how to be careful to stop my teeth from randomly going brown while taking anti-biotics! At 14, it was pretty clear I had hormonal acne, so why prescribe me an antibiotic, whose function is to treat or prevent bacterial infections? Good job Doc.

At 16 years old and €150 of my mothers money later, we were prescribed Myosin, by a dermatologist before even looking at my skin. No real questions asked other than: "Out of 5, what condition would you rate your skin in today?". I took Myosin for a couple months and my skin did clear up for a while, but like many drugs, it was not without some nasty side effects.

I tried prescription topical creams, Dr Murad vitamins, Pro-Activ, you name it, and these white and black buggers kept popping up. The only thing half close to solving the problem was Dianette, an oral contraceptive. BUT my doctor would only prescribe it to me for 6 months as it can have negative effects on bone strength.

So at 24, I threw in the towel. I surrendered. I had seen a number of people who had their acne treated by a harsh drug called Roaccutane, and had the lush, glowing skin I had always dream of. I knew certainties of taking this drug; the monthly blood and pregnancy tests, the low moods and chapped lips, the tiredness and grouchiness for several months, but if it finally allowed me to have to confidence not to wear make up, I'd take it. It had gone on too long.

It was hell. But the thought of finally being free kept me through the dark months of taking it. By the end of the 9 months, my skin was clear, I had scars from the acne BUT MY SKIN WAS CLEAR! "This is me now! It's over" I thought.

Until 2 months later, when those bastards came back! I didn't understand. I worked for EVERYONE. The dermatologist treated me had known my 9 year struggle and put me on Roaccutane right away, no questions asked.

No questions asked.

None of the doctors, dermatologists or "skin experts" really asked me too many questions. They just saw the problem and used what every they usually use for every patient. I was never asked, "What's your diet like?" or "Do you have any allergies?" or more importantly "Are you periods regular?".

From the first to the last pimple appearing on my face, it was hormonal acne. Ten years seeking advise and aside from my preteens, no one suggested it was hormonal. I was to mask it with an antibiotic, or a topical treatment and never mind what was going on in my body.

Hormonal acne is triggered my a higher level of androgens (testosterone and other related hormones) in the body. This can lead to excess hair growth, obesity and of course acne. Things I pretty much experienced since the Puberty Bus hit me at age 12.

So I began researching; how can I balance my hormones with taking any prescription medication. That's when I discovered Mint Tea. I read studies which claimed that that spearmint tea lowers androgen levels in women and read reviews from women claiming their excess facial hair was reduced. I read how those who drank at least 2 cups of organic spearmint tea reduced acne by 51% after three months.

Hallelujah! Isn't nature wonderful?

I began sipping the refreshing drink in January of 2016 and have seen a dramatic difference in my skin. Each day I look forward to the warming brew and love the other antibacterial and digestive benefits. On rare occasions when I forget to drink the tea in a number of days in a row, a white head might pop up to say hello, so you have to be committed. After years of the struggle, I feel blessed that I finally found a cure that works with my body and goes to the root of the problem.

I hope that those of you struggling with acne have saved some time on your journey to clear skin my reading this post.

Cheers,

Angela

x

Sort:  

Congratulations @missdidek! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @missdidek! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57500.86
ETH 2337.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36