Walking on Sunshine - Beautiful Sunday


My Share for #BeautifulSunday initiated by @ace108


Hello again and we are back to the amazing province of Laguna in the Philippines. In this series I will be sharing with you the highlights of our travel. Today I will take you to Liliw Laguna which is the Tsinelas (Flip Flops) capital of the country. Here you will find all sorts of foot wear at a very low price. If you love flip flops come and join me today as I take you around this town.


Walking on Sunshine



Liliw Laguna is popular for it's cold spring resorts, heritage sites and for the footwear. Everyone loves flip flops and here it is called Tsinelas, with the comfort it brings it is a favorite footwear for the masses. Cheap and easy to wear it is best used when going to the market, the beach, and at home.

Liliw Laguna boasts of its thriving Tsinelas industry which are also exported around the globe. Here you could get a good deal if you are a re seller. Once the footwear reaches the stores across the country the prices are doubled.


The majority of the products caters to ladies as I did not see a lot of footwear for men. Although if you would ask the seller they have some stored away or point you to another store.


Prices here ranges from 50 pesos ($1.00 USD) to 700 pesos ($12.00 USD). The prices would depend on the design or materials used on the products.


Here are some of the slippers of men made from synthetic leather. There are some which are more expensive which are made from genuine leather.


There are so many options to choose from and would be really hard choose unless you know what you are looking for. If you are shopping with your wife you are sure to be waiting for a while. Make you sure you are ready to kill some time. Thru the years I have learned the art of waiting in situations like this.



In this particular block, stalls are everywhere you look and each stall has its own unique products. Unlike, the shops in the city where it is very crowded and hot. Here the place is very cool with the provincial air.


When it comes to ladies shoes I have no idea whatsoever, but for my wife and daughter it was like a candy store for them. They told me that the prices here are really cheap compared to prices in the city with a quality that is much better if not the same.


Some slippers are sold three pieces for 100 pesos which is around $2.00 USD. For that price you could have three pairs. Talk about a bargain and if you are going into business you would get a good profit from it. If you are buying in bulks you could even haggle for a much lower price.


Here in our country the slippers is not only used as footwear. It is also a popular tool used to discipline kids. I recall when I was young slippers were used to get me back on the right track if I did something bad. In some countries, I know that spanking children are prohibited. But here in our country it is still an effective means for discipline. Although, it is a practice that I didn't apply to raise my children. My children are growing up fine as far as I could see it.


This is one of the stalls that has so much products on display and they even have different sizes available for each of them.


Colorful designs and made from native materials it is really amazing how unique the products are. I believe these slippers are made from Abaca which are made from fibers of a banana tree. The fibers are very strong and is known to withstand sea water.


Also, to mention Liliw celebrates a yearly Tsinelas festival during the last week of April. During the festival slippers are paraded, beauty contests are held, street parties and art exhibits are expected every year. I hope I could visit during this festival as the festival is next month already.


It would be really impossible to check out all the stores as there are a lot. I am not sure how my wife selected which store to buy from. Usually, most people go to the store that has a lot of people. I do not know maybe it is an indication that they have the best prices and products.


The business competition here looks tough, but surprisingly I saw some new stalls that just opened. It is an indication that business is booming and everyone is getting profit. Possibly, some of them already have re sellers in the cities and which is enough to keep their business going.


Another store that offers a price of 3 for 100 pesos ($2.00 USD). You can choose from any of the designs or colors in the pile.


Slippers on display on native hats is one way of displaying your products.



I went over to the end of the street and found some other stuff which are not footwear. Woven baskets in different colors is a nice bag to put in the slippers that you bought.


There are also some stores that sell native delicacies and sweet treats along with the shoes.


As I turned around the block, something caught my eye. Glistening under the sun are native vinegar sold in large plastic water bottles.


Infused with so much bird's eye chili that it almost fills half of the bottle. How would you like to try this fiery hot vinegar? Can you handle the heat?


Time flies really fast if you are taking photos and I didn't even notice the time. My wife was already calling me on my phone to tell me that they are done shopping. That ends our tour in the Tsinelas capital of the country in Liliw Laguna. I hope you had fun in this short tour and do let me know if you like any of the footwear.

I hope you join me again next time as we explore other parts of Liliw. Until then put on your slippers and enjoy the rest of the weekend.




Visit and follow @steemitbloggers AKA #powerhousecreatives. A community that is exceptional, talented and engaging.


Discovering exceptional content in the community follow @curie and vote as witness

To have a glimpse of awesome content from the Philippines check out @bayanihan

Follow @surpassinggoogle to witness an extraordinary person in this platform and vote for @steemgigs as witness

All photos are original and taken with

Lumix GX85 12-32 mm kit lens


 





 

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://watersnake101.vornix.blog/2019/03/31/walking-on-sunshine-beautiful-sunday/

Sort:  

I would love to visit a marketplace like that one day, going to the mall has lost its appeal to me!

So many great deals! Good luck finding prices like that in Canada

So true the best deals are outside the malls. Here in our country there are places like this for almost everything. Looking for pets, electronics, clothes all are located in different areas. The streets littered with shops all over. Not to mention the town that specializes in fireworks.

Would be quite the experience for me, hopefully one day 🤞 I would so be trying out everything I could!

Posted using Partiko iOS

So many styles and colors! I'd definitely have fun there! 😍

I am glad I was able to take you on a little window shopping. You will definitely find a lot that you would like.

It looks like you are having a real fun xD in my country moms still discipline their children with flip flops xD they are something to be afraid of hahaha

Posted using Partiko Android

Interesting that you have the same form of discipline in your country. When your parents raises the flip flops you know what is coming lol.

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in today's Travel Digest #472

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team, and if you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Thank you so much for the feature.

Looks like spoilt for choice at the whole street of wholesale kind of stores.

You said it the ladies will really get spoiled with all the choices here. My wife and daughter got three pairs each but they got me one pair of slippers lol.

The ladies.... always have too many shoes and many different bags. :-)

Hello my friend. I think I would never accompany my wife to such places. That's a paradise for all women. ;)

Ah believe me you will get trapped for a while lol. Better get your wallet ready lol.

@watersnake101, yes this is beautiful Sunday here too and what a great variety of sandals to choose from. I like the flowery ones.

It is amazing to see a small town with thriving business. I would buy you the flowery one if I could lol. Thanks for having a look I appreciate it.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=watersnake101
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=walkingonsunshine-beautifulsunday-n0hnss7rj0


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

hey upvoted, Phillip Phlopping around the Philippines I see, fully cool.

Thank you for the upvote. Yes I try to go around everytime I get a chance. Have you visited the Philippines?

Looks like a great place my friend and they seem to be doing well with the flip-flops!
Blessings!

Yes they are doing good and they also have a counter part in Manila. Although this town has a lot of charm away from all the hustle and bustle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56159.14
ETH 2370.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30