The Japanese Garden of Caliraya - Beautiful Sunday


My Share for #BeautifulSunday initiated by @ace108


Looking for a peaceful picnic spot? We visited a place in Caliraya, Cavinti Laguna here in the Philippines. Where the air is cool, a calm ambiance and the wind whispers to the leaves of the trees. Join me today as we explore a place that symbolizes peace and friendship of two nations.


The Japanese Garden of Caliraya



To get here you would need to drive up a mountain where a lake called Caliraya is located. A man made lake which was created in 1939. The lake is now popular tourist spot, great for swimming and other water activities. Since we were on a tight budget, we are unable to cross the lake to visit the resorts.


Instead we went to a Japanese Garden located near the lake.


At the entrance you would need to pay 20 pesos or around $.40 USD. The entrance fee is used to maintain the garden, making sure it is always clean.


I have been here when I was very young. Although I can't recall what I did here, but name outside is something that I still remember.


Once you come inside, you would immediately notice the Japanese structures. I do not know what it is called and what it signifies, but I felt a peaceful aura just by looking at it.


There is a trail that goes thru the structure and leads to the right side of the garden. There are so many trails all over and would be a bit difficult to choose which trail to follow. Just like in life where there are so many trails to choose from. Some would lead you to fulfillment, while others could lead you to disappointment.


Instead I chose the left side where there are a lot of stairs. Difficult paths often leads to greater rewards.


The kids has already gone ahead of me up the stone steps. The climb was not so difficult and can be easily managed by anyone.


Upon reaching the top, a pond and a bridge would greet you. Ponds and bridges are always present in Japanese gardens. I guess they are a part of the elements to complete the garden.


The water in the pond is not clear and looks muddy. Although, I noticed that there are fish thriving in the pond. Instead of Koi fish, they are replaced with Tilapia fish as they are native in this area.


Crossing the bridge leads you to more stairs that branches out into two. Trees covers the stairs and serves as a shade as you climb up.


The kids chose which stairs to take and claimed up the one facing the bridge. It was a bit tiring and I had to stop halfway to catch my breath.


Reaching the top leads you to a shrine for General Yamashita. Here I found out that the garden is actually a memorial for the Japanese soldiers who perished during the second world war. The Japanese government developed this garden in 1970 as a symbol of friendship to the Philippines.


General Yamashita was assigned to hold off the Allied armies in the country. During the Japanese occupation a lot of war atrocities has been committed. When the war ended the Japanese forces surrendered. General Yamashita was put on trial and convicted of the war crimes. His punishment was death by hanging.


Although, he said that he was not aware of the actions of his subordinates. He would have punished his soldiers if were aware. Thus the Yamashita standard was created which holds the commander responsible for the actions of the subordinates. He was hanged to death and some say that his remains are still buried here.


Not only that there is the legend of the Yamashita treasure. Gold treasures hidden by his forces during the retreat. Until now the legend lives on a treasure hunters are still looking for the buried treasure. Who knows it could be hidden in this garden.


After visiting the shrine, more steps awair leads to the top. Seemingly, an endless climb to the clouds above.


Typhoons has reshaped the garden, uprooted trees has made the trail look adventurous.


These stone structures can be found all over the garden. I don't know what they are and if anyone knows what it is. Please do share with us.


The final set of stairs awaiting to be conquered. I was hoping it is the last as my legs are getting weary with all the climbing.


As I reached the top, a wide open space appeared before me and cool wind was brushing my face.


There were a couple of stone benches, but I am not completely sure. They could be grave stones.


Here a view of the Caliraya lake can be seen. The hill that I am standing on is the highest point in the garden.


There is another section here on a small hill which is sealed off by barbed wires. Why would this area be sealed off?


Too stubborn to stay away I found a way thru the wires. Here I met an American war veteran as stubborn as me. He said that he was a part of the Korean war.


He was investigating the stone structure in this part. He mentioned that it looks to be like a graveyard as he saw something like this in Korea.


This memorial site seems to have been vandalized. In the slots, there are supposed to be brass plates. Names of the soldiers are engraved on them.


Here not one of the plates remains. It is very sad to see a memorial site desecrated. The brass plates may have been sold off and melted along with the memories of the departed.


I said farewell to our American friend and bid him a safe travel.


We continued our exploration and followed the road this time. A peaceful walk thru a road covered with trees.


Small trees were lined up on the right side. Looks like they have been planted manually as as they are arranged in rows.


As I saw the red Japanese structure, I knew that our journey has come to an end. A trail that leads back to where we started. Just like in life where there are so many choices and challenges. Still we must never forget where we started.


Thank you very much for allowing me to take a little bit of your time. To share with you a garden that represents peace and friendship. Putting things behind us a moving on thru life.

Hope to see you again soon and have a peaceful weekend everyone.


 

Resource

Tomoyuki Yamashita


 

Visit and follow @steemitbloggers AKA #powerhousecreatives. A community that is exceptional, talented and engaging.


Discovering exceptional content in the community follow @curie and vote as witness
To have a glimpse of awesome content from the Philippines check out @bayanihan
Follow @surpassinggoogle to witness an extraordinary person in this platform and vote for @steemgigs as witness
All photos are original and taken with

Lumix GX85 12-32 mm kit lens


 








Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://watersnake101.steemblogs.club/2019/06/09/the-japanese-garden-of-caliraya-beautiful-sunday/

Sort:  

Over a decade and a half ago, I built and lived in a house in Los Banos, Laguna. Sadly, I was too ignorant to explore the area very well.

I spent most of my time playing tennis on UPLB's clay courts and attending to my other interests until I finally decided that I had made a mistake moving there (wrong partner, wrong time in my life).

I gave the house away, packed up some of my and my daughters things and moved on to the next adventure.

Enjoyed your post.

Namaste, JaiChai

Oh you lived in the Philippines. Laguna is very big and has so many nice places to explore. I have only explored just the tip of the iceburg. Sorry to hear that your relationship didn't work out. I think I would enjoy chatting with you over a bottle or two. Los Banos Laguna hmm I guess you have tasted the ever popular buko pie there.

I can only eat it when I feel extra disciplined. Otherwise, instead of one or two slices, I would probably eat the whole pie at once!

LOL!

May you and yours be well and love life today.

Namaste, JaiChai

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=watersnake101
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=thejapanesegardenofcaliraya-beautifulsunday-bc254qkv0t


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #536.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

100 Snax tokens will be in your wallet by next Monday courtesy of @crowdmind. Learn More

Thank you very much for the support.

Japanese Gardens are always good for peaceful kind of walks

True. The only things that were missing was the Koi fish and running water. Still a very peaceful place to contemplate.

Congratulations @watersnake101! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 12000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

What a beautiful place. I had no idea such a park existed in the Philippines

Proud member of #powerhousecreatives.

The are a lot if Japanese gardens all over the country. Our country was occupied by the Japanese during ww2. War is ugly but that is a beautiful thing that we inherited.

Beautiful place with lots of stories...

Would be nice if I can go with a tour guide, there must be a lot of amazing stuff to learn about.

A guide would be nice but unfortunately none were available. There are so much more history to be told.

Such a beautiful park to have taken us to @watersnake. Lots of steps to keep you fit. You all must have slept like babes that night. Nice coincidence to find someone else had also found his way through the wire to the memorial site and could give you perhaps a new insight on its history. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Oh my legs were numb a bit with all the climbing lol. After that I still had to drive us back to my dad's house and I was exhausted. I really need to get back into shape.

"Difficult paths often leads to greater rewards." - love this sentence, indeed it had brought us to a beautiful place! Thanks for sharing again @watersnake101!

Thank you my friend. I always say that phrase to my kids. Getting them ready for choices in life.

I love the truck, and the garden is nice too

Ah the Delica. She maybe old but the family loves her. Taken us to places and safely back home. My daily companion going to work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63517.53
ETH 3062.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81