Museum of Creed - Beautiful Sunday

in #beautifulsunday6 years ago (edited)

My Share for #BeautifulSunday initiated by @ace108

Visiting churches takes my breath away and is one of my favorite subjects. This time I visited a religious museum rich with history, relics, artwork and beauty. The Museum of San Agustine takes you back to the past to witness religious artifacts on display. A tourist destination for those who seek a fusion of religion and art. Welcome to the.................

Museum of Creed


1.JPG

ruler.png

The museum is open up to 5 PM that day and the entrance fee is 200 pesos or around $4.00 per person. My wife and @bearkid stayed outside as they are already tired from walking that afternoon. I myself went on ahead to witness what relics are stored behind these walls.

2.JPG

Time was also an essence as I had barely more than a hour to go around the place. For me it was not enough as I often would like to linger around when it comes to museums.

3.JPG

No matter I still wanted to proceed and to begin I took just a glimpse of the map that was on display outside. One mistake I made is I should have taken a photo of the map with my smart phone. You will find shortly the reason for that.

4.JPG

Upon entering the first room, a scale model of a Spanish galleon tells you about the trade route from Acapulco to Manila. The travel to Manila lasted for three months but the route from Manila to Acapulco would last around six months. I am not sure why a different route is taken going back to Acapulco which is longer and more dangerous. Within the 250 years of traveling thru the route a lot of ships were lost at sea. Thru this route this is also how the Friars arrived in Manila.

5.JPG

In this room 18th century artwork can already be seen.

6.JPG

One of the ancient relics found is a Holy Bible dating back from 1583.

P1210755.JPG

As I exited the room I mistakenly entered a dark room which is a small theater. Tourist were quietly watching the history behind the museum. Didn't have much time to watch the show as time was short.

7.JPG

As I left the first room it led me to a corridor that goes around the museum. I was overwhelmed as there were around 18 rooms in the first floor alone. Each with different artifacts and artworks on display. The second floor has around 16 rooms also each with unique exhibits. I said to myself "This would take a whole day to fully enjoy the experience." I felt lost with all the different rooms in which I should have taken that picture of the map.

8.JPG

The corridor itself displays enormous religious paintings most of them tells about Saint Agustine. Paintings with oil on canvas it was a splendid afternoon walking thru the hallway.

P1220039.JPG

P1220035.JPG

9.JPG

10.JPG

I just chose a room to enter and inside it housed a collosal Retablo from 1617 a altar piece which is Corinthian style. The original Saints on display were stolen during the war and these now are donations coming from a different monatery.

11.JPG

12.JPG

As I walked thru the rooms more art work which are carved from wood. Some of the faces from the figures of the saints are made from Ivory. Embroidery on the garments are gold threads.

13.JPG

14.JPG

There are recent artworks from the 1980's. The Last Supper also made from oil on canvas. Underneath is a recreation of the supper.

15.JPG

Inside the museum is a small shop where you could take a quick break to get some refreshment. A place where you could buy some souvenirs to remember your visit.

16.JPG

17.JPG

Wasn't able to fully cover the first floor but I decided to climb up to the second floor. The stairway was decorated with paintings as well.

18.JPG

Upon climbing the stairs look up high to gaze on an impressive dome made from bricks from the inside. It will make you stop for awhile as it was a sight to see and tourists were also gazing with me at the dome.

19.JPG

Welcome to the second floor which was again overwhelming. 16 rooms to visit which time I had no luxury of. If I knew I would have come in the morning and probably cover it before the day ends.

20.JPG

More paintings from the 18th and 19th century including antique furniture from the monastery.

21.JPG

The Archangel St. Michael from 1756 with the iconic triumph over the devil.

22.JPG

23.JPG

24.JPG

Exiting the room and walking thru the corridor you will see more antiquity like this ancient bell from the monastery. In which I would mention that this museum was a former monastery which was destroyed during World War 2.

25.JPG

All that walking would refresh you as you gaze at the wonderful courtyard in the middle of the museum. Lots of wedding photo shoots are held here in which there was one earlier. I would say it is a perfect place for a shoot with that solemn classical mood of the ambiance.

26.JPG

27.JPG

The porcelain room in which houses jars, ceramics and porcelain from China. Together with other Chinese artworks.

28.JPG

Zhangahou Wares which were excavated from the monastery in 1990.

29.JPG

30.JPG

It was time to leave and we were told that the museum is closing and had to leave. Although not enough time and was not able to see it all. It was a beautiful experience which I would need to see again and hopefully with more time at hand.

Thank you for joining me today and have a good evening Steemians.

z.jpg

cd5e2b86646fa7c804a824560946d605.png


Follow @surpassinggoogle to witness an extraordinary person in this platform and vote for @steemgigs as witness
Discovering exceptional content in the community follow @curie and vote as witness
To have a glimpse of awesome content from the Philippines check out @bayanihan

All photos are original and taken with

Lumix GX85 and 12-32 mm

Snake new 2.jpg

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif]

watersnake101.png

Sort:  

wow.. ang ganda ng mga artifacts... kakaibang meseyo...

You need to visit it in case you drop by Manila

The ship model seems to be have very complete details.

Yes it does seem to be detailed including the cannon ports. Did not notice it until you mentioned it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57630.83
ETH 3105.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33