My Sublime & Beautiful Sunday. 'Have You Heard Of Wool Bombing?'

Have You Heard Of Wool Bombing?

This is my entry for the #beautifulsunday challenge, hosted by @ace108 and for #sublimesunday by @c0ff33a.

Well, Have you? Heard of Wool Bombing? I don't blame you if you haven't because I hadn't, until I visited Dayboro. I'd seen random wool bombing in my travels but was not aware of the term or indeed, that it was as wide spread as it obviously is.

s1fgjx4qw8.jpg

But some places suit this hand made phenomenon more than others and Dayboro is just made for Wool Bombing. The very quaint and picturesque town of Dayboro is located in the Moreton Bay Region, Queensland, in Australia. It is about 46 kilometers (29 miles) north west of Brisbane.

j4ik1fhos5.jpg

The D’Aguilar Ranges lie to the north of Dayboro and other nearby townships are Mount Mee, Petrie and Samford. Dayboro is well known for its avocado and pineapple plantations but also for dairy cattle.

But I am going to put Dayboro on the map for its unique Wool Bombing features.

83jjezcv51.jpg

At first glance I thought the people of Dayboro just loved their trees because every second one in the center of town was dressed in knitted or crotched garments.

rufxcub6h3.jpg

And it is winter here, so it makes sense, (kind of) that if you are going to dress a tree in winter, then wool would be a wise choice. Warm, cosy, soft, wool.......providing it didn't rain. That did concern me a little because, wet wool?.........well, it it's not that warm, cosy, or soft.

ax1z0eg9el.jpg

And then I came across this bench seat. So, the people of Dayboro love their bench seats too. Did I mention that Dayboro is a very caring community? There's even a cushion for us oldies to support our backs with if need be. Isn't that thoughtful?

cc9v9vlzug.jpg

Many of the wool bombing features were situated in and around Louisa Williams Park and even this sign was robed in wool.

t6vd9ioqsu.jpg

And so was this wooden post.

l1hqh466gs.jpg

And the pillar at the end of the bridge. Stranger and stranger-er!

lk4qtvtu71.jpg

I wondered who was responsible for all this very original, outdoor decor.......until I discovered this sign stretched across the bridge.

4reymia19k.jpg

Of course! The Queensland Country Women's Association. They're usually a bunch of talented women and this time they have put their knitting skills into adorning the streets of Dayboro.

axjacq43tm.jpg

Snakes Alive! Or preferably Dead! There were quite a few of them hanging from the trees. These ones I like. The ones with scales who hiss and slither and bite are not my friends and if I came across one of those, in one of these trees, not a lot of detail would be captured with my camera, I assure you.

skivplkgqq.jpg

The green snake with the googly blue eyes, long eyelashes and sequins for scales was my favourite. She liked me too because she gave me the most beautiful smile.

77bxi63ynw.jpg

I hope you enjoyed my Sublime and Beautiful (and fascinating) visit to Dayboro and I hope I've been able to enlighten those formerly ignorant about the craft of Wool Bombing sufficiently.

mlaaoufeu0.jpg

THANK YOU FOR VIEWING. HAVE A GREAT DAY.

wt9p7tuiz2.gif

Posted using eSteem Surfer

09nl4xkzj2.png

Sort:  

I have seen this phenomena (new south Welsher here), but didn't know it had a name. Very cool post.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you @pixresteemer 🌸 💖 🌸

This all is absolutely stunning! The fairy tails town, and so caring woman of the community with the hands of gold! They painted their living with these bright garment for trees and benches, and you are lucky to find such an amazing place!
Thank you for your wonderful story and photographs 🧡

Posted using Partiko Android

Many thanks for your wonderful comments and support @zirochka I'm very happy you enjoyed this post. 💖

It was my pleasure! 🌞

Very beautiful and great art work, thanks for sharing!

Thanks so much @almi Glad you enjoyed it.

Hi trudge hunger, I have heard of wool bombing and what a fun community activity to do. Loved your photos.

Thank you Angie. If you ever get the chance to visit Dayboro, I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

You got a 52.06% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @trudeehunter! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current min bid is 1.5 SBD and max bid is 10 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Those are all so beautiful @trudeehunter! I just love yarn! :-)

Thank you @shasta I love a good ol yarn too........and this one is quite unique 😁

Kind of nice. I wonder if they get taken down after sometime

I'm sure they wouldn't last too long when left to the elements @ace108 It must seem extravagant to people who need woolen rugs to keep them warm. Thanks very much for your support. 💐

You're welcome.

Strange , Stranger and stranger-er is the correct description for this town well at least it looks inviting and colorful and some thing very different good on them ladies it will keep them busy :)

Definitely haven't heard of wool bombing. It sounds like someone dropping sheep out of a plane! Depending on the price of yarn, it could be a pretty expensive hobby.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45