#BeautifulSunday and #SublimeSunday :) - A Story about my daughter's victory!

in #beautifulsunday6 years ago

This is my entry for the #BeautifulSunday challenge, initiated by @ace108. Thanks, my friend!

And I'm also posting today inspired by #SublimeSunday, a tag from @c0ff33a! Thanks!

Today I'm writing about a different matter I use to on this challenge. I'm writing about a personal matter. Happiness!
And a Victory!
A Beautiful and Sublime victory I'm telling you about this Sunday!

FMB 2018 7-10.jpg

As some of you may know by now, I have a son and a daughter. He's 23 and if finishing Vet school, but wants to be a musician.
She's 20 and for a long while ago she wanted to be a doctor. She wants to be a plastic surgeon (a good investment for me... I wanna be her guinea pig ;)).

FMB 2018 6-3.jpg

In Portugal, where they both live and study, it's almost a miracle to apply and get admitted to the Medicine college. Corporative interests, they say. The Medical professionals bar also involved, they say. I don't know the reasons, but the truth is that, in a 0-20 grade system, you can't even dream about entering the Med school if you have a grade under 18. There are no private colleges. Then, only a few students get those grades and graduate. And Portugal ends up hiring foreigner doctors, mainly Spanish.

FMB december 2017 62.jpg

My daughter ended secondary school with grade 18, but the admission examinations are surreal and she has been trying, in the last 2 years, to raise her final grade (17,3) and be admitted. But at the same time, she was learning Spanish and, this year, she applied to several Med Colleges in Spain. And she made it! She was admitted in Barcelona, Salamanca, Santiago de Compostela, and Badajoz.

frommybalcony102.jpg

She chose Salamanca, the oldest and one of the most prestigious Universities in Spain - 800 years old! She's starting in September and is so excited about it! She went there to know the city and fell in love with it! And I know that, now, I will start to go there more often!

FMB 2018 11-3.jpg

I love my country, but in this matter, I truly question its strategy. How come a country affords to treat like "garbage" 17,3-grade's students, high potential future professionals that end up dynamizing the economy of other countries while studying and, eventually, will stay there as professionals and contribute to making those countries richer and even more qualified? While has to hire foreigner doctors, as, in Portugal, there aren't enough doctors for the country's needs?

FMB december 2017 47.jpg

I don't get it.
But never mind now! I'm happy! She did it! She's a winner!

Thanks for reading and supporting me as a proud mother, my friends!

Be blessed and have a wonderful week ahead!

Thanks, @ace108 and @c0ff33a :)
Have a great Sunday, my friends!

Hippiesoul @nolasco
Isabel
www.isabelnolasco.com

My original text and photos, from my balcony. (Canon 5D MkIII).

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

DQmSSjgs1swFwv64uXRVpB9DAtzSnDv2Eeqr3CnPAup4WVV.png

photofriend banner.jpg

DQmc75yMiEvNZwe9U2sA7t4ghotVDAWpZp3VsJaRYaJ3fDV.png

steem sugarsDQmeZR5gxMRsGvanJAzkyHoYaXBTVWCfHEYqiycvb4rLJtU_1680x8400.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks so much, @daveks, what an honor! I've visited, upped and resteemed! This means a lot to me! have a wonderful week ahead!

this is amazing. Amazing colours and great composition ! awesome place!!

Thanks so much, I'm happy you liked it, @ykdesign!

Amazing photography

Thanks, my friend!

You welcome

Great news. Congratulations. Free medical treatment for me yay.

Ehehe, a doctor is always a good asset, indeed! Thanks so much, my friend!

Fotos impressionantes! Parabéns para tua filha!
Abraços!

Muito obrigada, Manuel, que amável! abraços de volta e desejos de uma semana muito feliz!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks, my dear Pix!

That's a strange situation @nolasco but not unusual I think. Goverments the world over make ridiculous policies.

So nice to hear more of your family and congratulations to you daughter.

I don't know much about Salamanca. I'll have to look it up! 😁

Beautiful photographs too.

Indeed, Gillian, and Portugal has made catastrophic decisions in the Education sector in the last few decades. I hope things will change for the better. Thanks so much for your wishes, I'm so happy that she finally made it! She has entered Pharmaceuticals college but she never wanted to graduate in it!
Salamanca is a wooondeful old city, full of history and awesome architecture. Now I will go there more often ;). Thanks so much, sweetie!

Indeed, my friend. Thanks for the link! I forwarded it to my daughter!
She loves Singapore, btw. Not East Timor. If I were in Singapore she would visit me more ;).
Have a wonderful week ahead!

You're welcome.
We have the modern amenities but some things are lost along the way. :-)

Yes... You're right my friend!

Huge Congratulations!! You must be so proud! And I love that you will have a new city to go visit and take pictures of!

Thanks so much, my dear Melinda! I'm proud, indeed :))).
And you know? I immediately thought about that, lol! Can't wait to visit her there!
Big hug, sweetie, have a blessed week!

Wonderful writing. Happy for your daughter 👍 Yes, it's beautiful Sunday

Thanks so much, my friend, your words mean a lot to me. Cheers to you, and have a wonderful week ahead!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54295.07
ETH 2287.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31